Research Guides: Music Research Guide: Finding Sound Recordings and Scores

Online Score Sources

Bach Gesellschaft Ausgabe
The Complete works of Johann Sebastian Bach
Chopin Early Editions
The Chopin collection at the University of Chicago Library includes over 400 first and early printed editions of musical compositions by Frédéric Chopin, maintained in the Special Collections Research Center.
Choral Public Domain Library
Free choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information.
NMA Online: Neue Mozart Ausgabe
Includes both the music and critical commentary volumes of the Neue Mozart-Ausgabe.

IPA books

Main collection (2nd floor):

Italian song texts from the 17th through the 20th centuries, vol.1, 17th century- ML54.6 .I85 2002 v.1

Hugo Wolf's complete song texts- ML54.6 .W853 G52 2000

Brahms' complete song texts- ML54.6 .B82 G52 1999

Schubert's complete song texts- ML54.6 .S39 G5 v.2

Phonetic readings of songs and arias- MT883 .C63

Classical Streaming Video

New! The library now subscribes to Medici.TV. TAMU-CC users can watch hundreds of concerts, master classes, and other classical music performances.

Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
Educational video reseource with programs including operas, ballets, concerts, documentaries, and master classes filmed from 1940s - present. Also contains live streaming (up to 3 months later) of events from concert halls, opera houses festivals, and competitions.

Sound Recordings

The library collection includes a wide variety of recorded music and scores both in the library building and online.

Streaming music databases

Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
Classical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries (50,000 + tracks). Coverage of repertoire includes over 32 labels with a particular focus on content that meets the needs of educators and students.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive classical streaming music online library. With hundreds of top music labels, it contains titles spanning medieval music to modern, jazz, electronic, world music, pop, rock, and more. Naxos also offers expert educational content written by a staff of musicologists, plus composer biographies, a glossary of musical terms, opera libretti and synopses, and more.
Twenty concurrent users.

The Development of Western Music
A coordinated presentation of the diverse range of Western music and its composers. 8-CD set. Ask for it at the Circulation Desk under the call number M1 .D48 1990.

Searching the library catalog for sound recordings
The Quick Search box on the library home page is the place to search for sound recordings in the streaming music databases the library subscribes to as well as music CDs that the library owns. Type a word or words in the search box that describe the kind of recording you’re looking for--you can search for a composer name, the title of a work, and/or more general terms like ‘violin’ or ‘opera’. Then use the 'Refine your search' options to limit the Material Type to 'Music/Audio Recordings'. You can also do a more specific search by clicking 'More search options.'

Scores

Classical Scores Library This link opens in a new window
This is a series of four volumes that provide a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. Contains full, study, piano, and vocal scores

Petrucci Music Library
The Petrucci Music Library (IMSLP) is a virtual library containing all public domain musical scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge.
Open Music Library
Curated by a community of music scholars, students, teachers and librarians, the Open Music Library brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books and music scores from the world’s digital collections.

Subject Guide

Derrik Hiatt

Contact:

361.825.2329
derrik.hiatt@tamucc.edu