Research Guides: Mexican American Studies Research Guide: Getting Started

Reference Databases

These reference databases are available online to students, faculty and staff of TAMUCC.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides online reference from digitized reference sources. Searchable by reference source, by subject, or across all sources. Includes a concept mapping function to assist in broadening or narrowing searches. Reliable, reputable reference sources. Citation assistance is available for the most popular formats.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Articles include an overview, historical background, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides examples of how to write persuasive essays, arguments, etc. Includes guides on how to write an essay / research paper.

Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement by Matt S. Meier and Margo Gutiérrez
Call Number: Main E184.M5 M458 2000
ISBN: 0313304254
Available as e-book and in print.
A history of the Mexican American civil rights movement in the 20th century.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Suzanne Oboler (Editor); Deena J. González (Editor); Deena J. González (Editor)
Call Number: Main E184.S75 O97 2005
ISBN: 9780195156003
Publication Date: 2005-08-25
Available as e-book and in print.
A landmark scholarly work with comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information. Each entry has its own bibliography and cross-references.
The Greenwood encyclopedia of Latino literature by edited by Nicolás Kanellos
ISBN: 9786613823007
E-book.
Encyclopedia of Hispanic American authors.
Encyclopedia of Hispanic American Literature by Luz Elena Ramirez
Call Number: PS153.H56 R36 2008
ISBN: 9780816060849
Covers Hispanic-American writers and literary works of both a historical and contemporary nature.
Dictionary of Chicano Folklore by Rafaela G. Castro
ISBN: 0874369533
E-book.
A dictionary of terms, social life, and customs associated with contemporary Mexican American heritage.