Dance Research Guide:Home

A guide to library resources for dance

Websites

Journal Article Databases for Dance Research

Reference Sources

The following items are print books located in the Reference section on the first floor of Bell Library:

The Oxford Dictionary of Dance (GV1585 .C78 2010) Print version of the dictionary.

International Encyclopedia of Dance (GV1585 .I586 1998  v.1  - v. 6) Covers all forms of dance in all countries of the world as well as cultural and social aspects.

A Dictionary of Ballet (GV1585 .W5 1974)

Technical Manual and Dictionary of Classical Ballet (GV1787 .G68 1967)

Ballet Guide: background, listings, credits, and descriptions of more than 500 of the world's major ballets (GV1790.A1 T47) A brief history of the ballet is followed by an alphabetically arranged listing of more than 500 major ballets giving the plot, staging, choreographer, composer, date and place of the first performance, and the dancers that originally appeared in the work.

 

Streaming Video

Looking for videos of or about dance? Try Films on Demand, the library's streaming video database. You can browse through the Dance videos, or simply type in a search (e.g., "choreography").

Music Recordings

Searching the library catalog for sound recordings
The library online catalog is the place to search for sound recordings that the library owns. Begin your search on the library homepage (http://rattler.tamucc.edu) by selecting the Books tab. Then choose a Subject search. Type in a word that describes the kind of musical recording you’re looking for, for instance ‘violin’ or ‘opera’. Then use the Limit/Sort Search button to limit the Material Type to 'CD (AUDIO)'. To search by composer, choose an Author search instead of a Subject search. Type in the composer's name, then use the Limit/Sort Search button to limit the Material Type to 'CD (AUDIO)'.

Subject Guide

Derrik Hiatt's picture
Derrik Hiatt
Contact:
361.825.2355
derrik.hiatt@tamucc.edu