Research Guides: Dance Research Guide: Home

Streaming Video

Looking for videos of or about dance? Try one of the library's two streaming video databases. Use the links below to see a list of videos about dance.
Films on Demand: Go directly to Dance videos in Films on Demand.
Kanopy: Go directly to Dance videos in Kanopy.
Medici.TV includes a number of videos of Ballet productions.

Websites

Dance at About.com
Lots of dance resources. Includes tips on learning to dance, becoming a dancer, videos on particular steps. Information divided into Dance, Dance for Beginners, Dance Styles and Dance Steps. Includes suggested reading, videos and links to other websites.
NYPL Dance Research Collection Catalog
Search for works about all forms of dance from all cultures, in print and other media in the New York Public Library's Dance Research Collection.

Select Dance Research Collection from pulldown menu of libraries once you're on the NYPL catalog site.
Dance Heritage Coalition
The DHC is a national alliance of institutions holding significant collections of materials documenting the history of dance. Its mission is to preserve, make accessible, enhance and augment the materials that document the artistic accomplishments in dance of the past, present, and future.

Reference Sources

Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection presents the historical context
of 20th and 21st century dance through 150,000 pages of exclusive periodicals, reference materials, books, dance notation, and photographs.
This collection includes exclusive access to the complete run of Dance Magazine (1927–present) in full text.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides online reference from digitized reference sources. Searchable by reference source, by subject, or across all sources. Includes a concept mapping function to assist in broadening or narrowing searches. Reliable, reputable reference sources. Citation assistance is available for the most popular formats.

The Oxford Dictionary of Dance by Debra Craine; Judith Mackrell
ISBN: 9780199563449
Publication Date: 2010
E-book.
Authoritative reference work on all aspects of dance performance.
International Encyclopedia of Dance by Selma Jeanne Cohen (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195173697
Publication Date: 2004
E-book.
Authoritative coverage of the full spectrum of dance, including theatrical, ritual dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Includes historical and cultural overviews of many nations, along with articles on specific dance forms, music and costumes, performances, biographies of dancers and choreographers, and more.
Encyclopedia of World Folk Dance by Mary Ellen Snodgrass
ISBN: 1442257490
Publication Date: 2016
E-book.
This illustrated compendium offers an overview of the evolution and social and religious significance of folk dance. The Encyclopedia focuses on the uniqueness of kinetic performance and its contribution to the study and appreciation of rhythmic expression around the globe.
The Encyclopedia of World Ballet by Mary Ellen Snodgrass
ISBN: 9781442245266
Publication Date: 2015
E-book.
Surveys the emergence of ballet from ancient Asian models to the present

Journal Article Databases for Dance Research

Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search for articles across all ProQuest social science databases, including Criminal Justice Database, Education Database, LLBA, PAIS, Sociological Abstracts, and more.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index This link opens in a new window
Full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more.
Coverage is from 1907 - present.
Full-text articles from over 330 journals
High-quality indexing of nearly 700 periodicals
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Arts & Sciences Collections I - XV include the complete back runs of journals in many disciplines, with research journals in economics, history, political science, sociology, ecology, mathematics, statistics, etc..
Unlimited users.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of academic journals from Johns Hopkins Scholarly Press and other non-profit scholarly publishers. Journals cover literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
Unlimited simultaneous users allowed.
Content is updated irregularly.

Music Recordings

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive classical streaming music online library. With hundreds of top music labels, it contains titles spanning medieval music to modern, jazz, electronic, world music, pop, rock, and more.
Twenty concurrent users.
Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
Classical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries (50,000 + tracks).
Requires Macromedia Flash Player PC/Mac and Media Player for PC.
Unlimited simultaneous users.

Searching the library catalog for sound recordings
The library online catalog is the place to search for sound recordings that the library owns.

Begin your search on the library homepage (https://www.tamucc.edu/library) by clicking on "More search options" (just below the search box).
On the More Search Options page, type in the name of the work in the top box, or a word that describes the kind of musical recording you’re looking for, for instance ‘violin’ or ‘opera’.
To search by composer, use the down-arrow next to "All Fields" and change it to Author instead, then type the composer's name in the search box.
Finally, look for the Content Type box (just below the search boxes) and click the box next to Audio Recording.

Your Team! College of Business, Liberal Arts, and SAMC

Left to Right: Derrik Hiatt, Tara Carlisle, Jennifer Anderson, and Lisa Louis.

We are the librarians for the College of Business, the College of Liberal Arts, and the School of Arts, Media, and Communication (SAMC). We look forward to working with you! To contact us or to make an appointment:

Submit your request and we'll get right back to you!