What you need:
Find one source besides your textbook and the article Professor Myers' provides on your interpersonal theory.
Theories include:
If these don't turn up resources for the theory you're interested in, do a Quick Search! Quick Search searches through all of the resources available at Bell Library, including all of the databases and journals. For a refresher on using the Quick Search, check out this tutorial:
What you need:
Whether you're in the library's Quick Search or in a specific database like Credo, IBSS, or Academic Search Complete, there are a few tips to help tell the database exactly what you're looking for.
1) Use quotation marks for phrases. Searching Uncertainty reduction theory in a database will bring up lots of results, including ones on just uncertainty, just reduction, or just on theories. To get specific, tell the database you want "uncertainty reduction theory" The quotes indicate that you want the database to search for that phrase, not for each individual word.
2) Use AND and OR when you need to. You might want to learn about healthcare, in which case you'll want to search for all of the different phrases that can mean healthcare. Your search might look like this: Healthcare OR "affordable care act" OR obamacare OR socialized medicine, while a search for gun control might look like this: gun AND (control OR regulation) AND (America OR US OR USA)
3) Don't forget about filters! These assignments require you to use credible, academic sources. You can use the filters on the left hand side of your results page to limit the results to just scholarly or peer reviewed articles in addition to limiting them by publication date, language, full text online, and more.
