ENGL 4361: Ethnic American Literature:Databases

Eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records are available in a user-friendly online environment. Collections include World War I Military Camp Newspapers, American County Histories, Woman's Suffrage Collection, Civil War documents, and more.

American independence, general interest, children's publications, journal articles for women, Civil War - magazines and journal articles.
Subject Area(s): History, Historical Periodicals, Social Sciences, Literature & Language
Coverage: 1740-1940

This family of historical collections contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents, and ephemera printed in America over three centuries. Includes: Early American Imprints, Series I Evans (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819); America’s Historical Newspapers; American State Papers, 1789-1838; and U.S. Congressional Serial Set.

Provides online reference from digitized reference sources. Searchable by reference source, by subject, or across all sources. Includes a concept mapping function to assist in broadening or narrowing searches. Reliable, reputable reference sources. Citation assistance is available for the most popular formats.

Provides online access to biographical and critical entries from the print resource of the same name. Includes Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism and the Dictionary of Literary Biography. Entries on a wide variety of literary figures may be searched in multiple ways.

MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.