Research Guides: Sociology Research Guide: Find Articles

Socjourn

The Socjourn
From Athabasca University in Athabasca, Alberta Canada. According to its Web site, it is "a new media journal intended to offer sociologists a window into the world of new media communications. Recognizing that traditional scholarly publication in traditional scholarly journals is limited, slow, and isolated ..., the Socjournal aims to bring sociology to the world by providing blog space, regular columns, and academic reports designed to popularize and disseminate the fascinating world of sociological research." Previously known as Electronic Journal of Sociology.

Databases: Where to Find Sociology Articles

Humanities and Social Sciences Index This link opens in a new window
Full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more.
Coverage is from 1907 - present.
Full-text articles from over 330 journals
High-quality indexing of nearly 700 periodicals
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Arts & Sciences Collections I - XV include the complete back runs of journals in many disciplines, with research journals in economics, history, political science, sociology, ecology, mathematics, statistics, etc..
Unlimited users.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles on current issues in psychology from respected sources, spanning 1987 to present. Includes more than 237,000 full-text articles from nearly 120 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. All journals included are indexed in PsycINFO.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 4 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search for articles across all ProQuest social science databases, including Criminal Justice Database, Education Database, LLBA, PAIS, Sociological Abstracts, and more.
Social Theory This link opens in a new window
An online collection designed to provide coverage of major social thinkers together with seminal texts from lesser figures.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 periodicals and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines resources from the Science Citation Index (1900-present), the Social Science Citation Index (1900-present) and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975-present) to provide broad searching capability in the academic journal literature.

Sociology Journals

Browse through a list of social science journals available from your library.

Social Service Resources

Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,600 periodicals and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
Social Work Online This link opens in a new window
A multimedia resource that combines video—compelling documentaries and client demonstrations—with relevant text content to illustrate the complex and challenging realities social work students will face as practitioners.

Sociology Research Guide:Find Articles

Socjourn

Databases: Where to Find Sociology Articles

Sociology Journals

Social Service Resources