It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The British Library’s collections on Flickr Commons offer access to millions of public domain images. The images are taken from 17th, 18th, and 19th century books spanning maps, geological diagrams, beautiful illustrations, comical satire, illuminated and decorative letters, colorful illustrations, landscapes, wall-paintings, and more.
Features items from the Library of Congress' digital collections that are free to use and reuse. Each set of content is based on a theme and can include books, newspapers, manuscripts, prints and photos, maps, musical scores, films, sound recordings, and more.
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
Provides indexing and abstracts for literature covering film and television studies. Useful for film scholars, students and general viewers.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
Content is updated twice per month.
Full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more.
Full-text articles from over 330 journals
High-quality indexing of nearly 700 periodicals
Periodical coverage dating as far back as 1910
An online resource hosting the key works and archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. The collection contains 150,000 pages of rare archival content, including seminal texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, and ephemera.
This collection is the first-ever scholarly online collection for researchers and students of adult comic books and graphic novels. This multi-part resource covers the full spectrum of this visual art form, from pre-comics code era works to modern sequential releases from artists the world over.
The collection contextualizes these original works with 25,000 pages of interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and
magazines, including The Comics Journal. Also included in this collection is The Seduction of the Innocent by Dr. Frederick Wertham—the book
that led to one of the largest censorship programs in US history—and the complete transcripts of the senate subcommittee hearings that birthed
the Comics Code Authority and, inadvertently, the underground comix movement.
Women’s Magazine Archive provides access to the complete archives of Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, Better Homes & Gardens, Chatelaine, Parents, and Redbook. The magazines are all scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color. Non-article items, such as advertisements, are included.
Better Homes & Gardens (1922 to 2005)
Chatelaine (1928 to 2005)
Good Housekeeping (1885 to 2005)
Ladies’ Home Journal (1883 to 2005)
Parents (1926 to 2005)
Redbook (1903 to 2005)
Cosmopolitan (1886 to 2005)
Essence (1970 to 2005)
Seventeen (1944 to 2005)
Town and Country (1846 to 2005)
Woman’s Day (1937 to 2005)
Women’s International Network News (1975 to 2003)
Hundreds of libraries and archives exist online, from university-supported sites to accredited online schools to individual efforts. Each one has something to offer to researchers, students, and teachers. This list contains over 250 libraries and archives that focus mainly on localized, regional, and U.S. history, but it also includes larger collections.
The Artstor Digital Library is the most extensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use. Their collections feature visual media from leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists, offering many rare and important collections available nowhere else.
Europeana Collections provides access to over 50 million digitized items – books, images, music, artworks and more. Explore the dedicated thematic collections on art, fashion, music, photography and World War I containing galleries, blogs and exhibitions to inform and inspire.
Catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and other units of the Library of Congress. Includes photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. **Not all photographs are available online.**
Historical collection of White Castle corporate archives, It contains photographs, negatives, motion picture films and audio recordings documenting the evolution of White Castle restaurants from the five-seat hamburger stands of the 1920s to the larger restaurants with drive-throughs and parking lots common today.
The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains approximately 100,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.