The library has a category in the A-Z databases list that will display a list of all the Streaming Video databases. Kanopy (Netflix-like feature film and documentary film database) is a favorite!
The library also has a list of eBook databases that you can search individually. Here's a selected list of a few eBook databases:
Browse the database A-Z list for Streaming Audio databases. Naxos Music Library is a fave!
Browse the database A-Z list for Image databases. Open Artstor is a favorite, but there are plenty of other wonderful image collections waiting for you to explore!
Quick Search is your best bet to find a book, ebook, journal article, streaming content, and more! First click on the search box to display the additional filters below. Then click on the filter you want to narrow down your results to just a single format. Commonly used filters are:
Then type in your specific title, surrounded by quotation marks. An example might be: "The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe."
Finding eBooks
Look in the center of the results page in Quick Search to browse for the book you want. The image below is an example of how an ebook looks in Quick Search. Click on the Full Text Online to get to the online book text and start reading. You may need to log in with your IslandID if you are off-campus or click through several screens to check out an ebook.
Print Books
Print books in the Quick Search result list will not have a link to online text. You'll need to either write down or take a picture of the book's call number and location. Call numbers allow you to find the precise location of the book on the shelf. Most of the library's print book collection is located on the 2nd floor, but in the example below, the book is in the Popular Reading section, which is located in the 1st floor Atrium area. Carry the book to the 1st floor Circulation Desk and present your ID to check the book out!
