Research Guides: Kinesiology Research Guide: KINE 2375

Background Information

Essentials of Sports Nutrition and Supplements by Adrianne Bendich (Editor); Jeffrey R. Stout (Editor); Jose Antonio (Editor); Douglas Kalman (Editor); Jeffrey Stout (Contribution by); Mike Greenwood (Editor); Richard Kreider (Contribution by); Darryn Willoughby (Editor); G. Gregory Haff (Editor); Richar
Call Number: RA 784 .E78 2008
ISBN: 9781588296115
Publication Date: 2008-07-09

These books are in the library.

Sports Nutrition Guidebook by Nancy Clark
Call Number: TX 361 .A8C54 2008
ISBN: 9780736074155
Publication Date: 2008-03-14

Sports Nutrition

Nutrition Information and Resource Center (NIRC)
"The NIRC at Pennsylvania State University provides links to sites and materials relating to various nutrition topics, including general nutrition information, nutrition for various age groups, fitness and sports nutrition, nutrition for chronic diseases, etc."
Sports and Nutrition: The Winning Connection
The Sports and Nutrition web site includes: Don't Let Your Diet Let You Down, a Pregame Meal Planner, Keeping Energy Levels Up, and Keeping Fluid Levels Up.
MedlinePlus Health Information
"The first place to go for authoritative consumer health information. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. It also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news. MedlinePlus is available in Spanish from this link."

Dietary Supplement Fact Sheets
"Quick links to fact sheets for dietary supplements, including herbs, vitamins, minerals, food extracts, oils, and teas. Includes background on dietary supplements and botanical (herbal) supplements, and other related links such as fact sheets on soy isoflavones and on St. John's wort and depression. From the Office of Dietary Supplements, National Institutes of Health (NIH)."
National Institutes of Health: Office of Dietary Supplements
"The U.S. Office of Dietary Supplements provides research and safety information. The site lists safety and recall notices and grant opportunities, and offers some publications and access to the International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements Database (IBIDS). Searchable."
Dietary Supplements Labels Database
"This site "offers information about ingredients in more than two thousand selected brands of dietary supplements. It enables users to determine what ingredients are in specific brands and to compare ingredients in different brands. Information is also provided on the health benefits claimed by manufacturers." Searchable by brand names, uses noted on product labels, active ingredients, and manufacturers. Also includes a FAQ, glossary, and related links. From the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM)."
Sports Supplements
Site linked to from MedlinePlus.