Research Guides: Media and Film Studies: Home

Find Journals

BrowZine This link opens in a new window
Browse journals by title or subject or create a bookshelf of your favorite journals, save and export articles, and get alerts when new journal issues are published.

Find Books

This search will use the library's Quick Search, but will only retrieve books and ebooks.

Interlibrary Loan

If you need anything Bell Library doesn't own, Interlibrary Loan is the service that can find those materials to you!

Usually, we'll be able to get the material in a few days, but a hard copy (like a full book or journal issue) will take us a little longer.

Don't forget: If you are currently a registered Distance Learner with the Registrar's Office or designated as a Remote Researcher; you can have books from Bell Library’s Main Collection, and borrowed interlibrary loan materials, shipped directly to your home for free. We also supply a prepaid return label for your convenience.

Interlibrary Loan Logon Page
Click here to request an item the library doesn't own through Interlibrary Loan.
Interlibrary Loan Help
If you have questions or need some help requesting materials, you can contact your librarian or visit our ILL research guide.

Don't Forget!

In a pdf file, you can use Ctrl "F" to find exact words and phrases in the text

In a book, you can do the same thing with the Index in the back of the book!

Evaluate this session

Library Instruction Evaluation Survey

Open Resources for Media and Film Studies

Writing for Digital Media
This textbook focuses on writing and digital media. Increasingly, writing is published on digital platforms like social media, websites, and blogs, and this online writing performs a variety of personal, professional, academic, and civic functions. The textbook discusses these functions from a critical and rhetorical perspective and provides practical skills and strategies that students can put into practice in their own digital writing.

Finding Sources in Library Databases

American Film Scripts Online This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1,000 scripts of American classic films. This collection contains detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes facsimilie images for more than 500 of these screenplays.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An archival database containing history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for literature covering film and television studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Arts & Sciences Collections I - IX include the complete back runs journals in fifteen disciplines
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Journals cover literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
24 databases in various subject disciplines

Playing in the Stacks

Call Numbers are on the spine of the book, this relates to the subject--remember to browse the shelves:

PN 1993-1999 Motion pictures

TR 845-899 Cinematography. Motion pictures.

Industry Reports

IBIS World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of industry market research and risk ratings, plus Business Environment Profiles.

You can search for industry reports on several different areas, you might try:

Movie & Video Production (51211a)

Television Production (51211b)

Movie & Video Distribution (51212)

Movie Theaters (51213)

Postproduction Services (51219)

Statista This link opens in a new window
Data from over 18,000 sources. Market reports on specific subject matters.
Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Contains demographic, economic and marketing statistics on over 200 countries, including historical and forecast data. Lifestyle indicators such as disposable income, consumer expenditure trends, eating and drinking habits, home ownership statistics and health data.

Your Librarian

Jennifer Anderson

Contact:

jennifer.anderson@tamucc.edu
361-825-3321

Other Media Resources

Moving Pictures: An Introduction to Cinema
A free and open-source introduction to the art and science of moving pictures, offering in-depth exploration of how cinema communicates, and what, exactly, it is trying to say.
Media Industries
Media Industries is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that supports critical studies of media industries, institutions, and policies worldwide.
Media Bistro
a website that offers resources for media professionals. It publishes various blogs which analyze the mass media industry, including the film and the publishing industries
On The Media
New York Public Radio's Blog "On the Media"
AdWeek
“leading source of news for marketing, media and advertising professionals”

IMDb The Internet Movie Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information about movies (including those made for television) from across the world, starting with the earliest cinema through the latest releases and titles still in production.

Broadcasting History
Five million pages of AM, FM & TV Broadcasting history online by David Gleason.
Lantern
An open access co-production of the Media History Digital Library and the University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of Communication Arts.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968.