Want to know more about a journal? Need to discover if it's peer reviewed or not? Check out the title in Ulrich's and see what you can learn.
Off Campus Research
You can access the library off campus from our website.
When you access a database or other resource that requires logging in, your computer will prompt you to authenticate. Sign in with your Island ID and password (same information you use to access Blackboard.)
The Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Fourth Edition provides a complete review of the most commonly used assessment instruments and the most efficient methods for selecting and administering tests, evaluating data, and integrating results into a coherent, problem-solving report.
Books in Print
Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures by Bert A. Goldman (Editor); David F. Mitchell (Editor)
Call Number: BF431 .G625 2003 v.8
This directory, number eight in the series, identifies and describes non-commercial experimental mental measures from the fields of psychology, sociology, and education that have been devised by researchers and published in thirty-six top journals.
Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment by Michel Hersen
Call Number: BF176 .C654 2004
Dr. Hersen has gathered in this unprecedented 4-volume work the leading resaerchers and clinicians in psychological assessment. This groundbreaking reference presents essential information on the four major classes of psychological assessment instruments, including intelligence/neuropsychological, personality (both objective and projective), behavioral, and industrial/organizational.
Handbook of Research Design and Social Measurement by Delbert C. Miller (Editor); Neil J. Salkind (Editor)
Call Number: H62 .M44 2002
In addition to hundreds of new references features new to this edition include: a comprehensive introduction to qualitative methods including a review of existing computer applications for collecting and analyzing data; the latest information about the use of computers and online research techniques, including the use of the Internet to locate actual research instruments and journal articles; updated coverage on new scales, internal and external validity, and new analytic techniques with extensive references on each; abstracts, citations and subject groupings by measurement tool.
Communication Research Measures by Howard E. Sypher; Philip Palmgreen; Alan M. Rubin (Contribution by); Rebecca B. Rubin; Michael Beatty (Contribution by); Sue DeWine (Contribution by)
Call Number: P91.3 .C623 2009
The scales presented are drawn from areas of interpersonal, mass, organizational, and instructional communication--areas in which the use of formal, quantitative scales is particularly well developed.
Marketing Scales Handbook by Gordon C. Bruner; Paul J. Hensel
Call Number: HF5415.3 .B785 1992
When published, this was the first-of-its-kind handbook that provided detailed descriptions of multi-item rating scales used to measure marketing related constructs. Covering the period from 1980 to 1989, this easy-to-use reference tool details 588 marketing scales used in Consumer Behavior; Advertising; and Organizational, Sales Force, and Miscellaneous fields. .
Measuring Health by Ian McDowell; Claire Newell
Call Number: RA408.5 .M38 1996
This is the second edition of a reference book that provides in-depth reviews of the quality of the leading health measurements that are used for these purposes. Its principal aim is to guide the reader in choosing among rival measurement methods and to score the instrument chosen.
Positive Psychological Assessment by Shane J. Lopez (Editor); C. R. Snyder (Editor)
Call Number: BF176 .P67 2003
Offering a primer for practitioners and researchers, this volume strives to incorporate assessment of human strengths, resources and fulfillment into their work.
FAQ: Finding Information About Psychological Tests
Answers to frequently asked questions are provided below and are divided into three topic areas: published psychological tests, unpublished psychological tests and additional information on the proper use of tests.