It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Writing Center Research Guide: Home
A guide created for Writing Center consultants as they point students to resources and conduct their own research.
Need a Librarian?
Did you know each college, discipline, and major has their own dedicated librarian? Find yours here:
Search through all of the library's resources in one click! Articles, Ebooks, books, and film are right at your fingertips!
Need a refresher? Check out our Quick Search tutorial below!
Point of View Resources
Often when students have research projects, they're required to present opposing points of view. The resources below are designed to provide students with varying perspectives on current, complex issues.
CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides articles and other materials for developing persuasive arguments and essays, understanding controversial issues and developing analytical thinking skills.
Database covering social issues with Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. A rich resource for debaters it includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
Let's be real: the Internet is too big. If you want to limit yourself or help limit your students to quality resources, have them start here!
Replace Wikipedia with Credo Reference, a database that pulls from all sorts of encyclopedia and dictionaries to get students the background information they need.
Provides online reference from digitized reference sources. Searchable by reference source, by subject, or across all sources. Includes a concept mapping function to assist in broadening or narrowing searches. Reliable, reputable reference sources. Citation assistance is available for the most popular formats.
Afraid they'll drown in the Quick Search? Point your students to Academic Search Complete! Covering a broad spectrum of subjects, this database has something for everyone without overloading students with millions of results.
Comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database which features journal articles, but includes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Subjects covered include: area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, ethnic & cultural studies, general science, geography, geology, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, theology, women's studies and other fields.
Full text. Some from 1887.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
Content updated daily.
These and all the of the TexShare Databases are funded by a grant from the US Institute of Museum and Library Services. The TexShare Databases are a program of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission, made possible by state and federal funds, as well as through member participation fees.