Research Guides: Health Care Administration Research Guide: Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles

SELECTED LIBRARY DATABASES

Take a look at the selected professional databases and websites listed below. Or explore the entire Nursing and Health Sciences database list from the library's website. Health Care Administration research can be cross-disciplinary, so you might want to explore Public Administration and Business databases too!

Note: As a TAMUCC student you have access to library databases for a full year (365 days) after you graduate or leave TAMUCC.

CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature and supports nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.

Full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL
Indexing for more than 5,400 Journals
Searchable Cited References for more than 1,460 journals
Author Affiliations
Full text dating back to 1937
Deep full text for a number of titles
More than 3.7 million records dating back to 1937
Over 130 Evidence-based Care Sheets
Nearly 170 Quick Lessons providing Overviews of Disease and Conditions
170 Continuing Education Modules
Full text for 360 Research Instrument Records
PUBMED
Web-based database which covers almost all the medical and health literature, with over 15 million citations.
Unlimited simultaneous users allowed.
Content is updated irregularly.
MEDLINE (ProQuest)
MEDLINE on this service contains over 4 million citations and abstracts, providing unparalleled access to worldwide biomedical literature. The database contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and since 2002,separate NLM specialty databases such as SPACELINE and HISTLINE.

Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.

ABI/Inform Collection
Articles from magazines, trade publications and journals on business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation and computers. Also includes company information and executive profiles.

Unlimited simultaneous users.
PAIS Index
The PAIS International database contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
ProQuest Congressional Publications
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information from the Congressional Information Service. An index of congressional publications, legislative histories, testimonies, Congressional Record, Federal Register and National Journal. Also includes information on members and committees, Congressional Hearings A (1824-1979) & B (1980-2003), and Congressional Research Digital Collection (1830-2003).
Public Administration Abstracts
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance. Records are selected from many of the top titles, including Public Administration Review, Public Administration Quarterly, and International Journal of Public Administration. 1933 to present.

What is Interlibrary Loan?

Interlibrary loan is an online service to connect you with items our library doesn't own, are checked out, or in non-circulating collections: If the item you want isn't available from our library, you can order it through interlibrary loan and we'll ship it to you once it arrives. It's fast and quick, and best of all, you already have an account - just activate by logging in to Tipasa with your IslandID and password!

Typically journal articles are available in electronic format - and come through your interlibrary loan account. Typical delivery time for an online article is 1-3 days. If it is an item in print, it may take a little longer and the item will be delivered to your home address. Typical delivery time for a print item is 4-7 days average.

Try Google Scholar!

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is free to use on the internet, and has lots of full-text articles included. Google Scholar also allows you to search and explore papers that have cited other papers, and includes Web of Science citation counts and lists when available.

Set up Google Scholar on your own device to link back to Bell Library resources and Interlibrary Loan. Look for the horizontal three line menu on the top left side of the page, and click. Go to Settings on the menu, then Library Links. Type in "Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi" and then click on the search button. Then select the box labeled "Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi - Get Full Text at TAMU-CC" and click on the blue Save button.

Google Scholar is also useful for Literature Reviews and intensive searching!

Google Scholar contains much more content in languages other than English and English content from more geographically diverse areas. That can be an advantage if you are performing a literature review.

Use "Related articles" and "Cited by" links to access articles that are similar or related to the article citation you are examining.

This image shows what an article entry looks like in Google scholar with cited by, related articles, and web of science links highlighted. Related Articles finds articles written on similar topics.

Cited by lists all articles that cited the source article you are examining. Occasionally Google Scholar will also list Web of Science cited by counts.