Research Guides: Health Care Administration Research Guide: Home

Your Team! College of Education and Human Development and College of Nursing and Health Sciences

Left to Right: Trisha Hernandez, Emily Murphy, Lorin Flores, Aida Almanza-Ferro.

We are the librarians for College of Education and Human Development, and the College of Nursing. We look forward to working with you! To contact us or to make an appointment:

Submit your request and we'll get right back to you!

Or, you can reach out directly. For our email addresses and phone numbers, see the list below:

Journals

Health Sciences Journals
A list of all the journals Bell Library subscribes to on health care administration, health care policy, hospital administration, and more.
Public Affiars, Policy, and Administration Journals
A list of all the journals Bell Library subscribes to on public affairs, public policy, and public administration, including health and social welfare policy.
Business and Economic Journals
A list of all the journals Bell Library subscribes to on business, economics, marketing and sales, including business administration and management, finance and insurance, and management information systems.

Don't see what you're looking for? You can use the box below to search through all of the journal articles accessible at Bell Library.

Quick Search

Quick Search
Search through all of the library's resources in one click! Articles, Ebooks, books, and film are right at your fingertips!

Need a refresher? Check out our Quick Search tutorial below!

Databases for Health Sciences Research

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature and supports nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
Full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL
Indexing for more than 5,400 Journals
Searchable Cited References for more than 1,460 journals
Author Affiliations
Full text dating back to 1937
Deep full text for a number of titles
More than 3.7 million records dating back to 1937
Over 130 Evidence-based Care Sheets
Nearly 170 Quick Lessons providing Overviews of Disease and Conditions
170 Continuing Education Modules
Full text for 360 Research Instrument Records
PUBMED This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based database which covers almost all the medical and health literature, with over 15 million citations.
MedlinePlus Health Information This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. It also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news. MedlinePlus is available in Spanish from this link.

Databases A-Z
Don't see the database you're looking for? Follow the link to see the full list of databases Bell Library subscribes to.

Databases for Public Administration and Business Research

Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance. Records are selected from many of the top titles, including Public Administration Review, Public Administration Quarterly, and International Journal of Public Administration. 1933 to present.
ProQuest Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information from the Congressional Information Service. An index of congressional publications, legislative histories, testimonies, Congressional Record, Federal Register and National Journal. Also includes information on members and committees, Congressional Hearings A (1824-1979) & B (1980-2003), and Congressional Research Digital Collection (1830-2003).
ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles from magazines, trade publications and journals on business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation and computers. Also includes company information and executive profiles.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
The PAIS International database contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.

Books

Many books and ebooks, like the examples below, are available to you through Bell library. Use the search box below to look for books on public health, policy, and health care administration.

Introduction to Health Care Management by Sharon B. Buchbinder; Nancy H. Shanks; Bobbie Kite
ISBN: 9781284156560
Publication Date: 2019-10-28
Introduction to Health Care Management, Fourth Edition is a concise, reader-friendly, introductory healthcare management text that covers a wide variety of healthcare settings, from hospitals to nursing homes and clinics.
Project Management for Healthcare by David Shirley
ISBN: 9780429104251
Publication Date: 2016-04-19
As a growing number of healthcare organizations implement project management principles to improve cost and service efficiencies, they are in desperate need of resources that illustrate the project management needs of today's healthcare professional. Project Management for Healthcare fills this need.

Open Resources for Health Care Administration

Career Cornerstones: Establishing a Foundation for a Career in Healthcare
Career Cornerstones: Establishing a Foundation for a Career in Healthcare is an Open Educational Resource (OER) that focuses on career skills required for students entering their respective health profession's program. This book is designed to help students be successful not only in their health profession's educational program, but also as they start to intern or work in healthcare settings. This resource is targeted for Healthcare Administration, Health Sciences, and Pre-Professional students.
Charting Your Course: A Roadmap to Thriving in the Field of Health
Whether you are in your first semester, nearing graduation, or long past graduation, this career guide is designed to lead you through the career development process: from building self-awareness, to conducting career research, undertaking a job search, to succeeding on the job. Charting Your Course includes relevant, up-to-date information, interactive and self-reflection-based exercises, as well as online resources to help support you to become more comfortable, flexible, and adept at managing your career.
Exploring the U.S. Healthcare System
Exploring the U.S. Healthcare System introduces students to foundational characteristics of the U.S. healthcare system. It begins with an overview of the healthcare system that includes a brief history and a description of the current state of health in the U.S. The second chapter describes health delivery systems, including inpatient, outpatient, post-acute, long-term, palliative, and hospice care. An introduction to health insurance in the third chapter will include an overview of basic concepts, private insurance, public insurance, and recent trends. The fourth chapter presents issues related to the triple aim of improving access to care, increasing the quality of care, and lowering the cost of care. The fifth chapter reviews how the government intervenes in healthcare and presents current policy issues related to the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act and value-based contracting. The final chapter on the topic of technology in healthcare provides an overview of health information technology, health information legislation, emerging technologies, and the future of health information technology. Chapter content is supplemented with additional material such as reports, briefs, figures, infographics, definitions, and key terms. Chapters two through six end with a “knowledge check” exercise to actively engage students with the content.