It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENGL 1302 with Newsome: Independent
This guide is for students in Professor Newsome's independent ENGL 1302 and the ENGL 1302 connected to the Nursing Learning Community
Scholarly resources are ones created by and for folks who are seriously studying a topic, folks who might be considered "scholars." This includes research articles, like those you can find in the Quick Search (see a demo of a Quick Search example below), as well as things like encyclopedias and dictionaries like those found in Credo Reference.
Provides online reference from digitized reference sources. Searchable by reference source, by subject, or across all sources. Includes a concept mapping function to assist in broadening or narrowing searches. Reliable, reputable reference sources. Citation assistance is available for the most popular formats.
Search through all of the library's resources in one click! Articles, Ebooks, books, and film are right at your fingertips!
Need a refresher? Check out our Quick Search tutorial below!
Newspapers are a good option for finding popular sources for your topics! You don't have to use a newspaper as one of your popular sources, but some topics will be able to find some great sources in here.
You can search in the database below, called Access World News, for newspaper articles on your topics by searching for your topic and then filtering the results to only those from a certain source location (like Texas or Corpus Christi) or from a certain source name (like The Houston Chronicle or the Corpus Christi Caller Times). You can also limit the articles to only those published within a certain date range, this is a great way to make sure you have the most up to date information on your topic.
News articles from the 1980s to present, from a wide variety of media, including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos, and web-only content. Includes over 400 U.S. newspapers and over 1000 international newspapers. Includes Corpus Christi Caller-Times from 1883-2021.
Google will be a great place to find information about resources related to your topic in the area. Searching for "diabetes AND Corpus Christi," for example, brings up the Corpus Christi diabetes patient navigation resources.
You can limit results in google by adding specific websites to the end of your Google search like this:
Those searches will show you all of the results for diabetes within cctexas.com or all of the results for pollution in sites that end in .gov.