Research Guides: ECON 4310: Econometrics (Avsar): Home

Strategies

Here are some suggestions for locating data sources for your projects:

1. Look for the data sources referenced in the scholarly articles you find.

2. Look in the library databases Statista or Statistical Abstract for relevant data and look at the source listed for the data.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Data from over 18,000 sources. Market reports on specific subject matters.
Statistical Abstract of the United States-Online Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text online version of the Statistical Abstract of the United States. Updated monthly. Covers 1878-present year. Choose year of coverage from drop down.
Statistical Abstracts of the World This link opens in a new window
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions.

3. Search the Google Public Data search with your keywords and see what you can find:
https://www.google.com/publicdata/directory

4. If that doesn't work, do a regular Google search with keywords on your topic and "data" or "statistics".

5. Try Gapminder: https://www.gapminder.org/data/ . Search by keyword for the indicator you are interested in.

Databases for Articles / Book Chapters / Reports

Library Quick Search
Use to search many library databases at once and connect to full text.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete back runs journals in fifteen disciplines, with many core research journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines resources from the Science Citation Index (1900-present), the Social Science Citation Index (1900-present) and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975-present) to provide broad searching capability in the academic journal literature.

Google Scholar
Search Google smarter with Google Scholar. Google Scholar focuses on more academic sources. If you are searching from off-campus, be sure to set your library settings in Google Scholar to Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi to make it easier to connect to our full-text resources.
NBER Working Papers
Papers produced by the National Bureau of Economic Research.
SSRN: Social Science Research Network - Economics
SSRN is aAn open access repository of scholarly papers in the humanities and social sciences. This link takes you directly to the Economics section of this network.

Data Sources - Examples

These are some reputable, extensive online repositories of data that you can use for your analysis. This is by no means an exhaustive list. Use the strategies above to identify other potential sources.

World Data

International Monetary Fund - Data Portal
The IMF makes available a wide array of international financial statistics on its website. Includes exchange rates, direction of trade, economic outlook, national accounts and many other topics.
UN Data
Provides over 30 numeric databases. Covers all topics studied by the United Nations: demographics, labor, energy, national accounts, development, etc.
World Bank Data Portal
Includes the entire World Bank data catalog, an analysis and visualization tool you can use to explore the data you are interested in, and more.
World Development Indicators
Presents the most current global development data available, including national, regional and global estimates.

US Data

American FactFinder - US Census Data
Census and survey data made available by the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes the 5-year Economic Survey as well as the Annual Survey of Manufactures and County Business Patterns.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Economic statistics watched closely by government officials, businesses and investors. Monetary policy, tax and budget projections.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Provides extensive data on employment, unemployment, inflation, spending, and all aspects of the workplace. Data are available on the national, regional, state and local level. Includes historical data and options to graph and download data.
PSID
The Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID) is the world’s longest running household panel survey.