Chemistry Research Guide:Websites

Premier organization for chemistry. Provides numerous links to ACS services, products and publications; jobs; and meetings.

Provides information about the program, including degree and course information; faculty research; and student resources.

Provides resources and guides and basic chemical safety; handling reactive chemicals; biological laboratory safety; nano-materials in the laboratory; K-12 laboratory safety; hazard analysis; safety data sheets; regulations and standards; laboratory waste management; and organizations.

“Provides users with easy access to chemical and physical property data for chemical species through the internet” (from the introductory section on the web site).

Allows users to identify pills by specific criteria, including imprint; shape; color; size; drug name or ingredients; inactive ingredients; label author; DEA schedule; and product code. Users should use the online tutorial at the bottom of the screen before they use this database. They should also read the "About and "FAQ" sections.

"PubChem, released in 2004, provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. More information about using each component database may be found using the links in the homepage" (from the database's "Help" section).

Provides links to numerous resources in careers, continuing education and professional development.

This site is a clearinghouse for MSDS from the James R. Macdonald Laboratory, Kansas State University.

Provides tutorials and training on using SciFinder (American Chemical Society).

"The Commission on State Emergency Communications(CSEC) is the state's authority on emergency communications, and is the state agency statutorily charged with administering the implementation of statewide 9-1-1 service and the poison control network, including regional poison control centers" (from the "About" section of the agency's web site).

Collection of resources about chemical nomenclature and structure; toxicology data; and toxicology literature.