It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Access: Where to publish and find OA
This guide provides guidance on open access scholarly publishing for all researchers.
When you find an article behind a paywall, click the open access button. The button will return a link to an open access version, if one exists, and also to any underlying datasets. If none exists, you can request a copy. Volunteers will contact the author and ask for an open access version.
There are many discipline-specific as well as multi-disciplinary open access journals. Choose journals for publication with care; see "Vetting OA journals" in this guide, or contact your subject librarian for help.
Knowledge Unlatched works with libraries and academic publishers to make selected books openly accessible. The model depends on libraries contributing to cover a publisher's costs on a book; when the cost-recovery goal is met, the book becomes open access. Knowledge Unlatched encourages authors to discuss this option with their publishers. See "How can I get my book published through Knowledge Unlatched?"
Accelerating Open Access. MDPI is a pioneer in scholarly open access publishing and has supported academic communities since 1996.
TAMU-CC is a member of MDPI's Institutional Open Access Program (IOAP). TAMU-CC author's receive a 10% discount on APCs.
Discover the latest open-access scholarship and teaching materials, join language and literature discussion groups, build a WordPress Web site for a class or conference—or to showcase your own work—and grow your readership by uploading materials to CORE, their open-access repository.
An "international, scholar-led open access publishing collective whose mission is to make leading works of contemporary critical thought available worldwide." The OHP network includes several openly accessible book series published by MPublishing at the University of Michigan, as well as a selective list of autonomously-produced open access journals in critical and cultural theory.
Open Journal Matcher uses a natural language processing library called spaCy to compare the text of a draft abstract with the abstracts of >5400 journals from the Directory of Open Access Journals. It ranks all of these journals by similarity, and returns the top five matches.
While there are other journal matching services available, to my knowledge this is the only one that is fully interdisciplinary and fully open source.
The code for the matcher application, the code for the matching algorithm, and the content of the journals, is all openly licensed.
The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is a charitable organisation dedicated to publishing open access scholarship with no author-facing article processing charges (APCs). They are funded by an international consortium of libraries who have joined us in their mission to make scholarly publishing fairer, more accessible, and rigorously preserved for the digital future.
A global serials directory available through Bell Library's databases web page (under "Databases" on the Library homepage).
With a keyword search, you can Narrow Results by "Refereed/Peer-reviewed" and "Open Access" types of publications. There are approximately 18,778 OA journals and 16,118 that are OA and peer-reviewed that are indexed in this directory (as of 10/01/2019).
Wiley publishes many journals and scholarly works in various disciplines. This site provides a list of this publisher's open access journals.
Open Access Repositories
Depositing works in an open access repository is a great way to openly share your research. Make sure to comply with copyright and licensing restrictions when submitting your work to a repository (see Your Copyright). A repository may be institutional, like TAMU-CC's Institutional Repository, or discipline-specific.
TAMU-CC's institutional repository is powered by DSPace and is open to anyone affiliated with TAMU-CC (faculty, staff, students, research organizations) focused on collecting, managing, and disseminating important digital content produced by the members of the institution.
Open access to 1,598,610 e-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
An electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science, Philosophy, Biology, Medicine, Anthropology, as well as any other portions of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition.
OpenDOAR is the quality-assured global directory of academic open access repositories. It enables the identification, browsing and search for repositories, based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.
Collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 101 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The heart of the project is a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components, all maintained by volunteers.
SSRN´s eLibrary provides 888,825 research papers from 428,103 researchers across 30 disciplines.
Publisher Copyright Policies
Authors who are faced with a publication contract that seeks transfer of the copyright should not hesitate to negotiate new terms or at least to reserve rights to use their own work in future teaching and writing and publish their work in a repository or find a different publisher. There are resources that can help in making decisions about their copyrights.
The Authors Alliance: Promotes authorship for the "public good by supporting authors who write to be read."
Scholar's Copyright Addendum Engine: Creative Commons offers this addendum engine to assist authors in creating addenda to be included with publication agreements. These documents amend the publication agreement to allow authors to retain rights to use and share their work.
SHERPA/RoMEO: This project offers important insight into the language of publication agreements.