Research Guides: Nursing Research Guide: Clinical Point of Care Tools

Identifying Conditions

DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DynaMed Plus is a clinical reference tool, also called a "Point of Care" tool that is very similar to UpToDate.
Use DynaMed Plus to find in-depth run downs of conditions, procedures, drugs, and more.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library contains lots of resources, including their Point of Care tool, Cochrane Answers. This tools is set up in a Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) style.
Search for a condition, procedure, or drug in the search bar in the upper right hand corner of the page, then limit your results to the Clinical Answers tab (second tab from the right).

Essential Evidence Plus
Essential Evidence Plus is a powerful, comprehensive clinical decision support system that integrates information on 9,000 diagnoses into healthcare professionals' clinical workflows.

DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DynaMed Plus includes a large variety of calculators including those for medical equations, statistics, and dose conversions.

EBMcalc
EBMcalc (Evidence Based Medicine Calculator) is a unique computerized medical reference and tool set. EBMcalc encompasses a wide array of pertinent medical formulae, clinical criteria sets and decision tree analysis tools used everyday by clinicians, medical educators, nurses and health care students of all types.
Merck Manual: Clinical Calculators
In addition to medical topics, quizzes, and abbreviation definitions, Merck Manual contains a variety of Clinical Calculators.
Merck Manual: Conversion Tables
Merck Manual provides a conversion table for metric system, atomic weight, and Centigrade - Fahrenheit equivalents.

Clincal Checklist
Clinical Checklist is an easy-to-use tool to manage "always-do" and "never-do" care recommendations. With Clinical Checklist® you can ensure patient care quality is addressed and safety imperatives are applied around essential "always-do" and "never-do" care recommendations.
Nurse's Pocket Guide: Diagnosis, Prioritized Interventions, and Rationales
This book is designed to aid the practitioner and student nurse in identifying interventions commonly associated with specific nursing diagnoses as proposed by NANDA International (NANDA-I). These interventions are the activities needed to implement and document care provided to the individual client and can be used in varied settings from acute to community/home care.

Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses provides comprehensive, up-to-date drug information in well-organized, nursing-focused monographs.
Merck Manual: Drug Information
Search Merck Manual for drugs, either by brand name or generic name, to get detailed information about dosing, calculations, warnings, storage, and more.
Merck Manual: Pill Identifier
Merck Manual also includes a tool for identifying pills. Describe the pill's color, shape, and imprints to get a list of possible medications.
The Review of Natural Products
The Natural Products database is a well established and highly regarded publication that meets the need for unbiased, scientifically based information on natural products.

DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search DynaMed Plus for a drug to get an overview of appropriate use, dosing, and warnings.

Drugs.com
Provides drug information by drug name, by condition, or on the internet for the public and professionals. Covers "Care Guide", "Drug Interactions", "Pill Identifier", and "Image Search" sections. Offers latest news on drugs.