History 4385 Research Guide:Print Encyclopedias

Alphabetical entries are supplemented by a narrative overview and summary of theoretical approaches to studying conspiracies and conspiracy theories. Important sources, further reading, and over 100 excerpts from original source documents are also included. *ALSO AVAILABLE ONLINE VIA CREDO REFERENCE*

This resource contains nearly 1,250 biographical and thematic entries. Included are extensive bibliographies, a detailed 4400-year chronology, and a topical outline.

This monumental set contains over 10,000 biographical entries of women from 3100 BCE to end of the 20th century. The scope is worldwide and includes the most famous and influential as well as the obscure and nearly-forgotten. Genealogical charts, extensive cross-references, and ample bibliographies facilitate understanding and further research.

Covering almost 400 North American tribes, each signed article contains information on historical and contemporary issues. Maps and overview essays contextualize the articles, and extensive bibliographies facilitate further research.

More than 900 articles and 400 maps, charts, and illustrations cover Latino/a life and culture in the U.S. Also included are biographical, historical, and thematic essays, as well as bibliographical references.

With over 240 entries, this resource provides ready answers to immediate questions about American political history. The descriptive time line and dictionary of abbreviations provide context to articles, and the ample bibliographies facilitate further research. Separate entries for each president from Washington to Clinton are included.

Nearly 200 scholars from several disciplines have contributed essays discussing major issues including gender, race, class, and orientation. Ample bibliographies encourage further reading. Some essays cover particular periods of American history, whereas others deal with broad themes associated with social history.

This resource continues and supplements the Encyclopedia of American Social History. More than 200 scholarly “reference essays” cover a wide variety of topics. The first set of essays cover specific periods of American history and are arranged chronologically. Later essays are arranged thematically. Illustrations, excerpts from original texts, and bibliographies are included.

This source covers U.S. foreign policy from the American Revolution to the contemporary era. Entries include countries, concepts, people, things, and organizations.

More than 1600 articles describe and explain the coming of war, its conduct, and its consequences. They are enhanced by primary documents, maps, illustrations, a glossary, and an extensive bibliography.

Contains over 5800 entries covering topics from prehistoric times to the present. Articles are arranged alphabetically, but a thematic outline of topics in volume 6 facilitates research. Ample bibliographies follow each entry.

This unique compendium is arranged into 23 major themes related to European Social History and contains over 200 essays. Featured are a decade-by-decade narrative chronology, comprehensive bibliographies, and nearly 300 biographies.

Nearly 330 scholars from a variety of disciplines provide a “connected, holistic view of World History.” Included are a 56-page overview, several major articles that cover essential themes and patterns, and hundreds of smaller articles on processes, movements, places, events, and people.