Research Guides: International Business / Marketing: Research Guide

Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database)

Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Contains demographic, economic and marketing statistics on over 200 countries, including historical and forecast data. Lifestyle indicators such as disposable income, consumer expenditure trends, eating and drinking habits, home ownership statistics and health data. In-depth analysis for consumer, industrial and service sectors. 1977 to present

Sources for Financial, Social and Political Environment Data

globalEDGE - Michigan State University
Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.
Country Reports - Business Source Complete
Country reports from various sources including MarketLine, Business Monitor International and IHS Global, among others. Search by country name.

Economist Intelligence Unit This link opens in a new window
A good source for analysis by country, risks and industry. Includes country risk ratings. Search by country name, then explore the various tabs for different types of information.

Export Solutions (was Export.gov)
Brings together resources from across the U.S. Government to assist American businesses in planning international sales strategies to succeed in the global marketplace. Country Commercial Guides will be most helpful.
International Monetary Fund - Data Portal
The IMF makes available a wide array of international financial statistics on its website. Includes exchange rates, direction of trade, economic outlook, national accounts and many other topics.
UNdata
A unified portal to a diverse group of United Nations statistical sources. In addition to keyword searching for data, look under "more" for country profiles and an advanced search screen.
Investment Climate - U. S. Department of State
Investment Climate Statements provide country-specific information and assessments prepared by U.S. embassies and diplomatic missions abroad on investment laws and practices in those countries.
Annual Report on Exchange Arrangements and Exchange Restrictions
Published by the International Monetary Fund since 1950. Covers foreign exchange arrangements, exchange and trade systems, and capital controls
of all IMF member countries.
2020 National Trade Estimate Report on Foreign Trade Barriers
Published by the Office of the U.S. Trade Representative, this is an annual report on significant foreign trade barriers.
World Integrated Trade Solution
WITS gives access and allows users to retrieve information on trade and tariffs compiled by various international organizations.

Sources for International Ratings

Coface - Economic Studies and Country Risks
160 country evaluations, drawn up on the basis of macroeconomic, financial and political data. Regularly updated. Provides an estimate of the average credit risk on a country’s businesses.
Corruption Perceptions Index
Scores countries on how corrupt their public sectors are seen to be.
Economic Freedom of the World Annual Report
Measures the degree to which the policies and institutions of countries are supportive of economic freedom in five broad areas: size of government: expenditures, taxes, and enterprises; legal structure and security of property rights; access to sound money; freedom to trade internationally; and regulation of credit, labor, and business.
Economy Rankings - World Bank Group - doingbusiness.org
Economies are ranked on their ease of doing business, from 1–189. A high ease of doing business ranking means the regulatory environment is more conducive to the starting and operation of a local firm.
Freedom in the World - Freedom House
Each country is assigned two numerical ratings—from 1 to 7—for political rights and civil liberties, with 1 representing the most free and 7 the least free.
Global Competitiveness Report 2019 - World Economic Forum
Assesses the competitiveness landscape of 144 economies, providing insight into the drivers of their productivity and prosperity.
KOF Globalization Index
Measures the three main dimensions of globalization:economic, social, and political, and calculates an index of globalization from those factors. You can query the data online, download graphs and download data.
more...less...
Always 2 years behind. Use available data.
Human Development Index
A composite index measuring average achievement in three basic dimensions of human development—a long and healthy life, knowledge and a decent standard of living.
Index of Economic Freedom - The Heritage Foundation
The Index covers 10 freedoms – from property rights to entrepreneurship – in 186 countries.
Investing across Borders - World Bank
Compares regulation of foreign direct investment around the world. It presents quantitative indicators on economies' laws, regulations, and practices affecting how foreign companies invest across sectors, start businesses, access industrial land, and arbitrate commercial disputes.

International Business / Marketing

Get help!

Estimation of Market Potential

Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database)

Sources for Financial, Social and Political Environment Data

Sources for International Ratings