Research Guides: Liberal Arts Learning Communities: Home

Databases

CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
Points of View Reference Center
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides articles and other materials for developing persuasive arguments and essays, understanding controversial issues and developing analytical thinking skills.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Database covering social issues with Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. A rich resource for debaters it includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
Credo Reference
Provides online reference from digitized reference sources. Searchable by reference source, by subject, or across all sources. Includes a concept mapping function to assist in broadening or narrowing searches. Reliable, reputable reference sources.

Helpful Filters for Newspaper Articles

ProQuest News Databases
Cross search 4 news databases including many local and regional newspapers from the U.S., Canada, Latin America, Asia, and throughout the world.

Filters to Select from the left menu:

Source Type: Newspapers

Publication Date: Using a date range will help you select articles that best address your issue

Document Type: Clicking on More will let you Include News, Article, and Feature and allow you to Exclude other types of content -- Be on the look out for Editorials, Commentary, From the Right, and other Op-Ed pieces.

Publication Title: Remember to pay attention to the bias of the source itself. Is the paper neutral and known for fact reporting - or is the publication intentionally reporting with a liberal or conservative voice?

APA Citation

Get instructions for APA citation style from Purdue Online Writing Lab

You can also get assistance at the TAMU-CC Writing Center. Here's their Basic Formatting Guide

Don't forget to look for citations for the articles you find in the library's databases. Most online resources will offer citations in a variety of styles!

Bias

Video: Types of Bias
Learn about the different types of biases, where you might encounter them, and how to spot them.

Media Bias chart created by Vanessa Otero, JD. For the most current mediabias chart and to see why media outlets are ranked where they are, go to www.allgeneralizationsarefalse.com.

Your Team! Colleges of Business, Engineering & Computer Science, Liberal Arts, SAMC, and Science.

From left to right, bottom row: Lisa Louis, Mohammad AlHamad. Top row: Jennifer Anderson, Tara Carlisle, Phebe Raglin

We are the librarians for the Colleges of Business, Engineering & Computer Science, Liberal Arts, SAMC, and Science. We look forward to working with you! To contact us or to make an appointment:

Submit your request and we'll get right back to you!

Ask Us!

Call: 361-825-2340
Text: 361-726-4986
Email us
Visit the Circulation Desk in Bell Library

Evaluate this session

Library Instruction Evaluation Survey

Mind Map

Mind Map - Blank
Didn't make it to the library session? Lost the one you were given during the session? Love the idea so you want to use it for another class? Here you'll find a blank version of the mind map. Feel free to click on and print out.

Liberal Arts Learning Communities: Home

Important Notes:

NEVER PAY FOR ARTICLES: The library subscribes to databases that have lots of articles in them from reputable news outlets. You do NOT need to pay for a subscription to a newspaper.

ALWAYS GRAB THE PERMALINK: Permalinks or permanent links are associated with articles so you can always get back to that article. You will need these for your Research Logs.