Research Guides: Nursing Learning Communities: Research Resources

Your Team! College of Education and Human Development and College of Nursing and Health Sciences

Left to Right: Aida Almanza-Ferro, and Lorin Flores.

We are the librarians for College of Education and Human Development, and the College of Nursing. We look forward to working with you! To contact us or to make an appointment:

Submit your request and we'll get right back to you!

Or, you can reach out directly. For our email addresses and phone numbers, see the list below:

Aida Almanza-Ferro | aida.almanza@tamucc.edu | 361-825-2356
Lorin Flores | lorin.flores@tamucc.edu | 361-825-2609

Librarians are available M-F, 8-5.

APA Citation Help

OWL Purdue's APA Style Guide
This guide includes instructions and examples for writing using the APA 7th edition style guide.

Mind Map

Mind Map
Didn't make it to the library session? Lost the one you were given during the session? Love the idea so you want to use it for another class? Here you'll find a blank version of the mind map. Feel free to click on and print out.

Quick Search

Quick Search
Search through all of the library's resources in one click! Articles, Ebooks, books, and film are right at your fingertips!

Need a refresher? Check out our Quick Search tutorial below!

Searching for Multimedia

Google
Searching Google is a great way to find multimedia sources! You can find podcasts, Ted Talks, videos, and infographics.

If you want to search for a particular kind of file you can add "filetype:" and then the file type. For example, "nurse infographic filetype:pdf"

You can also tell Google what kinds of sites you're interested in by adding "site:" and the kind of site you're looking for. For example, "nursing podcast site:.edu"

You can also search through a particular website for a topic by including a whole URL in your search terms. For example, "nursing burnout site:ted.com," will search through Ted.com for content about nursing and burnout.

Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a video streaming solution for colleges offering a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad selection of over 26,000 documentaries, feature films, and educational videos from thousands of producers. Also available via iOS app, Android app, or Roku channel.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Search in the Digital Public Library of America for images, video clips, and more!
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Search historic photographs, documents, and more from the Library of Congress.

Databases for Research

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature and supports nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
Full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL
Indexing for more than 5,400 Journals
Searchable Cited References for more than 1,460 journals
Author Affiliations
Full text dating back to 1937
Deep full text for a number of titles
More than 3.7 million records dating back to 1937
Over 130 Evidence-based Care Sheets
Nearly 170 Quick Lessons providing Overviews of Disease and Conditions
170 Continuing Education Modules
Full text for 360 Research Instrument Records

Background Information

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides online reference from digitized reference sources. Searchable by reference source, by subject, or across all sources. Includes a concept mapping function to assist in broadening or narrowing searches. Reliable, reputable reference sources. Citation assistance is available for the most popular formats.
DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DynaMed Plus® is a clinical reference tool.. Content is written by a world-class team of physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis.

The Student Nurse Toolkit by Ian Peate
ISBN: 9781118393918
Publication Date: 2013-06-17
This essential, practical guide will guide you through your nursing course even before you start.Written in a straightforward, no-nonsense style, this Toolkit is full of strategies and help for surviving and succeeding on your pre-registration nursing course, and addresses all the key issues and concerns you may face, including: How to get the most out of your clinical placement The nursing terminology you need to know How to achieve a healthy work-life balance How to develop an effective relationship with your mentor With case studies from real students, hands-on activities and suggestions for further reading, this is THE essential survival guide for your nursing course!

Evaluate this session

Library Instruction Evaluation Survey

Nursing Learning Communities:Research Resources