Research Guides: Psychology Learning Communities: Start Here

Background Information

Credo Reference
Provides online reference from digitized reference sources. Searchable by reference source, by subject, or across all sources. Includes a concept mapping function to assist in broadening or narrowing searches. Reliable, reputable reference sources. Citation assistance is available for the most popular formats.
Encyclopædia Britannica Online Academic Edition
The online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica. Includes a Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary and Collegiate Thesaurus, World Atlas, Year in Review section, and historic Timeline.
Unlimited simultaneous users allowed.
Content is updated irregularly

Using Bell Library's Quick Search

The video below shows you how to conduct a quick search from Bell Library's homepage and how to access the resources you find there.

Bell Library Homepage
To access the Quick Search box, go to the Bell Library homepage.

Psychology Databases and Association Websites

PsycINFO
Largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 4 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.
Psychology Database (ProQuest)
Contains articles from over 400 of the leading psychology and psychiatry journals from the U.S., Canada and the U.K.
Unlimited simultaneous users allowed.
Content is updated irregularly.
Psychology + Behavioral Sciences Collection
Contains full text articles for journals in psychology and related fields, including peer-reviewed titles. Topics include emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Content from 1995.

American Psychological Association
APA is the leading scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States, with more than 118,000 researchers, educators, clinicians, consultants and students as its members.
Texas Psychological Association
TPA’s membership is comprised of more than 1,500 practicing psychologists and graduate students in the state of Texas.

Mind Map

Mind Map - Blank
Not sure what direction to take your topic? Need to shift the idea of a topic into a research question? Trying to organize your group? Print a mind map and start brainstorming!

Using Google

Most research starts with Google, we encourage it as a matter of fact. Using Google will help you discover a topic or even better develop a topic idea you have in mind.

There is a small problem, however. How can you ensure Google is giving you reliable sources?

Here's a trick: When looking for sources you can trust, try to stick to .edu, .org, or .gov websites. To do this, enter your search terms in the search box and then add "site:.edu" or "site:.org" or "site:.gov". For example, if you're researching education issues in Texas, you could search "corpus christi AND homeless programs site:.gov"

To specifically search for Texas Governement Agencies, search using "site:.state.tx.us". An example would be: "food insecurity site:.state.tx.us".

Newspaper Resource and Additional Databases

Access World News
News articles from the 1980s to present, from a wide variety of media, including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos, and web-only content. Includes over 400 U.S. newspapers and over 1000 international newspapers. Includes Corpus Christi Caller-Times from 1883-2021.
JSTOR
Arts & Sciences Collections I - XV include the complete back runs of journals in many disciplines, with research journals in economics, history, political science, sociology, ecology, mathematics, statistics, etc..
Unlimited users.
ScienceDirect
Citations and journal articles in the science, medical and technology fields. Also includes citations and articles for business, arts and humanities, psychology and social sciences.
Unlimited simultaneous users allowed.
Content is updated monthly. 1995 to present

Psychology Learning Communities

Your Team! Colleges of Business, Engineering & Computer Science, Liberal Arts, SAMC, and Science.

Evaluate this session