Research Guides: Sociology Learning Communities: Start Here

Library Resources

Credo Reference
Provides online reference from digitized reference sources. Searchable by reference source, by subject, or across all sources. Includes a concept mapping function to assist in broadening or narrowing searches. Reliable, reputable reference sources. Citation assistance is available for the most popular formats.

Dictionary of American History
Really an encyclopedia, this reference source provides good summaries of major events and biographical sketches of figures in American History.

More Background & Point of View Sources

Access World News
News articles from the 1980s to present, from a wide variety of media, including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos, and web-only content. Includes over 400 U.S. newspapers and over 1000 international newspapers. Includes Corpus Christi Caller-Times from 1883-2021.
CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Database covering social issues with Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. A rich resource for debaters it includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
Points of View Reference Center
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides articles and other materials for developing persuasive arguments and essays, understanding controversial issues and developing analytical thinking skills.

View of Quick Search on the library's home page displaying additional search filters under the search box.

Quick Search is your best bet to find a book, ebook, journal article, streaming content, and more! First click on the search box to display the additional filters below. Then click on the filter you want to narrow down your results to just a single format. Commonly used filters are:

Books/ebooks
Articles
Films/Video
Music/Audio Recordings
Full-text online (OPTIONAL: use this filter only if you want just online to display in your result list)
Peer Reviewed (OPTIONAL: use this filter only if you want just scholarly peer reviewed journal articles to display in your result list)

Then type in your specific title, surrounded by quotation marks. An example might be: "The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe."

Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 periodicals and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index
Full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more.
Coverage is from 1907 - present.

Full-text articles from over 330 journals
High-quality indexing of nearly 700 periodicals
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest)
Search for articles across all ProQuest social science databases, including Criminal Justice Database, Education Database, LLBA, PAIS, Sociological Abstracts, and more.

Manchester Academic Phrasebank
The Academic Phrasebank is a general resource for academic writers. It aims to provide you with examples of some of the phraseological ‘nuts and bolts’ of writing organized according to the main sections of a research paper or dissertation. Other phrases are listed under the more general communicative functions of academic writing. The resource should be particularly useful for writers who need to report their research work.The phrases, and the headings under which they are listed, can be used simply to assist you in thinking about the content and organization of your own writing, or the phrases can be incorporated into your writing where this is appropriate.

Google Scholar is free to use on the internet, and has lots of full-text articles included. Google Scholar also allows you to search and explore papers that have cited other papers, and includes Web of Science citation counts and lists when available.

Set up Google Scholar on your own device to link back to Bell Library resources and Interlibrary Loan. Look for the horizontal three line menu on the top left side of the page, and click. Go to Settings on the menu, then Library Links. Type in "Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi" and then click on the search button. Then select the box labeled "Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi - Get Full Text at TAMU-CC" and click on the blue Save button.

Google Scholar is also useful for Literature Reviews and intensive searching!

Google Scholar contains much more content in languages other than English and English content from more geographically diverse areas. That can be an advantage if you are performing a literature review.

Use "Related articles" and "Cited by" links to access articles that are similar or related to the article citation you are examining.

This image shows what an article entry looks like in Google scholar with cited by, related articles, and web of science links highlighted. Related Articles finds articles written on similar topics.

Cited by lists all articles that cited the source article you are examining. Occasionally Google Scholar will also list Web of Science cited by counts.

Mind Map

Mind Map - Blank
Didn't make it to the library session? Lost the one you were given during the session? Love the idea so you want to use it for another class? Here you'll find a blank version of the mind map. Feel free to click on and print out.

Sociology Learning Communities

Your Team! Colleges of Business, Engineering & Computer Science, Liberal Arts, SAMC, and Science.

Evaluate this session

Library Resources

Mind Map