For many years, the Bell Library has participated in the TexShare program, sponsored by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission. The TexShare program contracts with multiple database vendors, which allows TexShare member libraries to have access to these common resources at a fraction of the cost of subscribing to all of them individually. For years, Bell Library has received access to a number of EBSCO databases, including Academic Search Complete and Business Source Complete, through this program.
In its most recent renewal cycle, however, TexShare received a more competitive offer on a different set of multidisciplinary databases from Gale. As a result, the TexShare contract with EBSCO will not be renewed when it expires. Libraries wishing to continue subscribing to these resources must pay for them from their own budgets. Bell Library is not able to absorb these costs. TAMU-CC will lose access to the EBSCO databases being cut from the TexShare program on August 31, 2023.
UPDATE (5/2/2023): We have determined that the Bell Library will be able to continue subscribing to Business Source Complete. Unfortunately, we will not be able to continue subscribing to the other EBSCO databases formerly offered through TexShare.
|
Academic Search Complete |
MasterFILE Complete MedicLatina MEDLINE with MeSH Middle Search Plus Military & Government Collection Natural & Alternative Treatments Newspaper Source Plus Play Index (H.W. Wilson) Primary Search Professional Development Collection Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection Race Relations Abstracts Referencia Latina Religion & Philosophy Collection Salud en Español Science & Technology Collection Serials Directory Short Story Index (H.W. Wilson) Small Business Reference Center Small Engine Repair Reference Center Sustainability Reference Center Texas Reference Center TOPICsearch Vocational & Career Collection |
We subscribe to several EBSCO databases directly, not through TexShare. Access to the following databases will not be affected:
This is not a complete list. For more information please ask a librarian for assistance.
Environment Complete offers coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,125 active core titles) as well as more than 120 monographs. The database includes 447 global open access (OA) journals
|
Cengage Learning Chilton Library |
* OneFile Collections The following OneFile collections are included with Health Sciences Research Collection Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
|
The majority of our high-use journals contained in Academic Search Complete will still be available, via other full-text databases and journal packages which the library already subscribes to. Many of them are also available in the Gale databases newly available through TexShare.
To check current access to a specific journal, you can use the library's Journal Search, or Ask Us for help.
As always, free Interlibrary Loan services can be used to acquire materials no longer in our collections.
Below are some suggestions for alternatives. If your database is not listed here, please reach out to a librarian for more guidance.
| EBSCO Database | Database Alternative |
| Academic Search Complete | |
| Business Source Complete | Proquest Business databases (includes ABI-Inform) |
| ERIC | ERIC (Online from the Department of Education) ERIC on Proquest |
| Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Health Source: Consumer Edition |
Health Reference Center - Academic CINAHL Ultimate |
| MEDLINE (via EBSCO) | MEDLINE (PubMed) MEDLINE (via ProQuest) |
| Newspaper Source | Access World News ProQuest News Databases |
| Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection | ProQuest Psychology Database PsycINFO |
| Religion and Philosophy Collection | Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy (included in Gale Academic OneFile) |
