Lots of dance resources. Includes tips on learning to dance, becoming a dancer, videos on particular steps. Information divided into Dance, Dance for Beginners, Dance Styles and Dance Steps. Includes suggested reading, videos and links to other websites.
The DHC is a national alliance of institutions holding significant collections of materials documenting the history of dance. Its mission is to preserve, make accessible, enhance and augment the materials that document the artistic accomplishments in dance of the past, present, and future.
Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection presents the historical context
of 20th and 21st century dance through 150,000 pages of exclusive periodicals, reference materials, books, dance notation, and photographs.
This collection includes exclusive access to the complete run of Dance Magazine (1927–present) in full text.
Provides online reference from digitized reference sources. Searchable by reference source, by subject, or across all sources. Includes a concept mapping function to assist in broadening or narrowing searches. Reliable, reputable reference sources. Citation assistance is available for the most popular formats.
Authoritative coverage of the full spectrum of dance, including theatrical, ritual dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Includes historical and cultural overviews of many nations, along with articles on specific dance forms, music and costumes, performances, biographies of dancers and choreographers, and more.
This illustrated compendium offers an overview of the evolution and social and religious significance of folk dance. The Encyclopedia focuses on the uniqueness of kinetic performance and its contribution to the study and appreciation of rhythmic expression around the globe.
Comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database which features journal articles, but includes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Subjects covered include: area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, ethnic & cultural studies, general science, geography, geology, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, theology, women's studies and other fields.
Full text. Some from 1887.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
Content updated daily.
These and all the of the TexShare Databases are funded by a grant from the US Institute of Museum and Library Services. The TexShare Databases are a program of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission, made possible by state and federal funds, as well as through member participation fees.
Full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more.
Coverage is from 1907 - present.
Full-text articles from over 330 journals
High-quality indexing of nearly 700 periodicals
Arts & Sciences Collections I - XV include the complete back runs of journals in many disciplines, with research journals in economics, history, political science, sociology, ecology, mathematics, statistics, etc..
Provides full text of academic journals from Johns Hopkins Scholarly Press and other non-profit scholarly publishers. Journals cover literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
Unlimited simultaneous users allowed.
Content is updated irregularly.
A comprehensive classical streaming music online library. With hundreds of top music labels, it contains titles spanning medieval music to modern, jazz, electronic, world music, pop, rock, and more.
Twenty concurrent users.
Classical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries (50,000 + tracks).
Requires Macromedia Flash Player PC/Mac and Media Player for PC.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
Searching the library catalog for sound recordings
The library online catalog is the place to search for sound recordings that the library owns.