Research Guides: EDUC 4605 Course Guide: Your Course Bookshelf

Course eBooks

Dr. Reinhardt has kindly organized a few titles that will help you as you navigate this course. Feel free to access the resources below:

Advancing Formative Assessment in Every Classroom by Connie M. Moss; Susan M. Brookhart
ISBN: 9781416609117
Publication Date: 2009-12-01
This practical guide provides strategies to help school leaders foster a culture of formative assessment throughout their schools.
The Art and Science of Teaching by Robert J. Mar
ISBN: 9781416606574
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
The popular author of Classroom Instruction That Works discusses 10 questions that can help teachers sharpen their craft and do what really works for the particular students in their classroom.
Back to Learning by Les Parsons
ISBN: 9781551382814
Publication Date: 2012-09-28
Straightforward analysis and practical guidance for navigating today's numerous classroom challenges.
Becoming a Critically Reflective Teacher by Stephen D. Brookfield
ISBN: 9781119049708
Publication Date: 2017-02-13
A practical guide to the essential practice that builds better teachers. Becoming a Critically Reflective Teacher provides the foundational information and practical tools that help teachers reach their true potential.
Culturally Sustaining Pedagogies by Cathy Coulter (Editor); Margarita Jimenez-Silva (Editor); Stefinee Pinnegar
ISBN: 9781784412616
Publication Date: 2017-06-06
This book highlights the journeys, challenges and unfolding stories of transformation that reside within university/community/school partnerships focused on cultural and linguistic revitalization through schooling.
Design and Deliver by Loui Lord Nelson; David Rose (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781598573503
Publication Date: 2013-11-04
Universal Design for Learning is the best way to teach all students effectively. Use UDL principles to help students: sharpen executive function skills; improve comprehension and information processing; stay engaged during lessons; communicate effectively using multiple tools; develop self-regulation and self-assessment skills; sustain effort and persistence; increase autonomy; and more.
Differentiating Instruction with Technology in the Middle School Classroom by Grace E. Smith; Stephanie Throne
ISBN: 9781564842602
Publication Date: 2009-11-21
This book offers an overview of research on the uniqueness of middle school students and illustrates the importance of using technology to create differentiated lessons, especially with this age group.
Elevating Co-Teaching Through UDL by Elizabeth Stein
ISBN: 9781930583580
Publication Date: 2016-09-01
Universal Design for Learning (UDL), a framework for designing inclusive learning environments, offers co-teachers structure and guidance in pursuing their goal to create successful learning environments for all students.
Enhancing Professional Practice by Charlotte Danielson
ISBN: 9781416605171
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
The framework for teaching is a research-based set of components of instruction that are grounded in a constructivist view of learning and teaching.
Guided Inquiry Design® in Action by Leslie K. Maniotes (Editor)
ISBN: 9781440847110
Publication Date: 2016-12-05
Edited by the cocreator of the Guided Inquiry Design® (GID) framework as well as an educator, speaker, and international consultant on the topic, this book explains the nuances of GID in the high school context.
Handbook on Differentiated Instruction for Middle and High Schools by Sheryn Spencer Northey
ISBN: 9781930556935
Publication Date: 2004-12-22
This book has an abundance of time-saving, practical strategies for teachers in grades 6-12.
How to Differentiate Instruction in Mixed-Ability Classrooms by Carol Ann Tomlinson
ISBN: 9780871209177
Publication Date: 2001-04-01
Tomlinson shows how to use students' readiness levels, interests, and learning profiles to address student diversity.
How to Give Effective Feedback to Your Students by Susan M. Brookhart
ISBN: 9781416607366
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
Grounded in what researchers have learned about effective feedback, the book provides practical suggestions and classroom examples that demonstrate what to do--and not do--to have a positive impact on students.
Integrating Differentiated Instruction and Understanding by Design by Carol Ann Tomlinson; Jay McTighe
ISBN: 9781416602842
Publication Date: 2013-04-12
Connecting content and kids in meaningful ways is what teachers strive to do every day. In tandem, UbD and DI help educators meet that goal by providing structures, tools, and guidance for developing curriculum and instruction that bring to students the best of what we know about effective teaching and learning.
Learning and Leading with Habits of Mind by Arthur L. Costa; Bena Kallick
ISBN: 9781416607410
Publication Date: 2008-12-01
In Learning and Leading with Habits of Mind, noted educators Arthur L. Costa and Bena Kallick present a comprehensive guide to shaping schools around Habits of Mind. The habits are a repertoire of behaviors that help both students and teachers successfully navigate the various challenges and problems they encounter in the classroom and in everyday life.
Learning That Lasts by Ron Berger; Jal Mehta (Foreword by); Anne Vilen; Libby Woodfin
ISBN: 9781119253457
Publication Date: 2016-04-05
A practical guide to deeper instruction'a framework for challenging, engaging, and empowering students of all ages For schools to meet ambitious new standards and prepare all students for college, careers, and life, research has shown unequivocally that nothing is more important that the quality of daily instruction.
The Quest for Learning by Marie Alcock; Michael L. Fisher; Allison Zmuda
ISBN: 9781942496908
Publication Date: 2017-09-28
It's crucial for 21st century teachers and students to determine together what a student will learn and at what pace. This resource dives deep into questing, a customizable pedagogy tailored to a student's interests, needs, and abilities.
Raising the Rigor by Eileen Depka
ISBN: 9781942496984
Publication Date: 2017-02-24
This book shares instructional practices that educators can use to respond to students' diverse needs as they develop 21st century skills.
Reflective Practice by Gwen Sherwood; Sara Horton-Deutsch; Sigma Theta Tau International Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781935476795
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
How we teach is as critical as what we teach. The book explores how reflection provides a process for asking critical questions that can lead to improvements in quality and safety. It expands on current pedagogies with a learner centered focus.
Teaching Cooperative Learning by Elizabeth G. Cohen (Editor); Celeste M. Brody (Editor); Mara Sapon-Shevin (Editor)
ISBN: 9780791459690
Publication Date: 2004-01-16
Explores cooperative learning practices. Teacher educators from ten institutions and programs in the United States, Canada, and Germany describe the ways in which they have changed teacher preparation to more fully incorporate cooperative learning concepts. Analytical commentaries on the programs highlight the learning experience of these programs as well as underlying issues of needed reforms in teacher education.
The Creative Teaching and Learning by Best Thomas; Brin Best; Will Thomas
ISBN: 9780826483768
Publication Date: 2008-12-09
An exciting mixed product of print and downloadalbe resources, this book presents over 200 tips, tools and practical strategies for more effective teaching and learning that can be used in your classroom tomorrow.
The Handbook for Embedded Formative Assessment by Solution Tree Staff
ISBN: 9781945349508
Publication Date: 2017-11-17
Developed as a companion to Embedded Formative Assessment, 2nd ed, this handbook guides K-12 teachers through the process of developing effective formative assessments. Inside its pages, you'll find tried-and-tested classroom techniques, practical how-tos, and exercises designed to guide implementation. The resource also includes discussion questions that can be answered as teams or used for individual reflection.
The New Art and Science of Teaching by Robert J. Marzano
ISBN: 9781943874965
Publication Date: 2017-02-17
Throughout the book, Marzano details the elements of three overarching categories of teaching that define what must happen to optimize student learning.
The Understanding by Design Guide to Advanced Concepts in Creating and Reviewing Units by Grant Wiggins; Jay McTighe
ISBN: 9781416614098
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Understanding by Design is based on a backward design approach and is used by thousands of educators to create curriculum units and assessments that focus on developing students understanding of essential ideas and helping students attain important skills.
Universal Design by Edward Steinfeld; Jordana Maisel; Danise Levine
ISBN: 9780470399132
Publication Date: 2012-04-10
Written by top thinkers at the Center for Inclusive Design and Environmental Access (IDeA), it demonstrates the difference between universal design and accessibility and identifies its relationship to sustainable design and active living.
Universal Design for Learning by Anne Meyer; David Rose; David Gordon
ISBN: 9780989867405
Publication Date: 2016-02-01
UDL can help educators improve and optimize learning experiences for all individuals. In this book, Meyer and Rose, along with David Gordon, provide the first comprehensive presentations of UDL principles and practices since 2002.
What Teachers Need to Know about Differentiated Instruction by Peter Westwood
ISBN: 9781742862927
Publication Date: 2016-03-04
In order to be most effective, instruction in inclusive classrooms needs to be geared carefully to students' individual learning rates and levels of ability. Differentiated Instruction presents a concise look at developing and implementing differentiated instruction programs.

Course Articles

Below are APA citations of articles you might find helpful as your make your way through this course. All articles can be found using Bell Library's databases or performing a Quick Search.

If you need any assistance, please feel free to ask a librarian.

Graham, S., Hebert, M., and Harris, K.R. (2015). Formative assessment and writing: A meta-analysis. The Elementary School Journal, 115(4), 523-547.

Heitink, M.C., Van der Kleij, F.M., Veldkamp, B.P., Schildkamp, K., and Kippers, W.B. (2016). A systematic review of prerequisites for implementing assessment for learning in classroom practice. Educational Research Review, 17, 50-62. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.edurev.2015.12.002

Shatri, Z. G. and Zabeli, N. (2018). Perceptions of students and teachers about the forms and student self-assessment activities in the classroom during the formative assessment. Journal of Social Studies Education Research, 9(2), 28–46.

Keep Informed with BrowZine

If you want to keep updated about the latest research being conducted in the Education field, create an account in BrowZine and start your very own bookshelf!

BrowZine This link opens in a new window
BrowZine is a Web or mobile application that allows you to browse, read, and monitor journals available through the Bell Library, in a format optimized for display. Users can browse journals by title or subject, create a bookshelf of their favorite journals, save and export articles, and get alerts when new journal issues are published. The BrowZine mobile app (available free in the App Store, Google Play, or Kindle/Amazon store) is required for use on a mobile device.

Here are a few great journals to look into:

American Educational Research
American Journal of Education
Computers & Education
Critical Studies in Education
Educational Administration Quarterly
Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis
Educational Researcher
Educational Research Review
Educational Technology Research and Development
Educational Theory
International Journal of Inclusive Education
Journal of Education for Students
Journal of Teacher Education
Learning and Instruction
Pedagogy, Culture & Society
Research Papers in Education
School Effectiveness and School Improvement
Teaching and Teacher Education
Technology, Pedagogy and Education

EDUC 4605 Course Guide:Your Course Bookshelf

Course eBooks

Course Articles

Keep Informed with BrowZine