Research Guides: Geographic Information Science: GIS Journals and Geospatial Academic Resources

Finding Relevant Geospatial Academic Resources

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village consists of Compendex, GEOBASE, GeoRef, NTIS, and Inspec, which can be searched all at once or individually.
Note: Referex content has moved to the ScienceDirect database.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. provides IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings and IEEE standards. Topics cover the fields of electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Maximum of 5 simultaneous users.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Citations and journal articles in the science, medical and technology fields. Also includes citations and articles for business, arts and humanities, psychology and social sciences.
Unlimited simultaneous users allowed.
Content is updated monthly. 1995 to present
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Science In Context is an online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. By integrating authoritative, curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, Science In Context draws students into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.
SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline. Includes content from the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including demographic data from the US Census (back to 2000), the American Community Survey (ACS) with current estimates, consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory. Users also have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories, detailed lifestyle data, and segmentation solutions.

Up to 5 concurrent users. Sign in as a guest user or create an individual account to save your work for later sessions.
Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides global coverage on all aspects of theory, production, and application of solid state materials and devices and superconductivity technology. Includes books, scholarly journals, conference proceedings, reports and more.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines resources from the Science Citation Index (1900-present), the Social Science Citation Index (1900-present) and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975-present) to provide broad searching capability in the academic journal literature.
Unlimited simultaneous users allowed.
Content is updated irregularly.

Attribution and License

This guide, "Geographic Information Science" is a derivative of "GIS & Geospatial Data Services" from UT Libraries used under CC BY NC. This guide, "Geographic Information Sciences" is licensed under CC BY NC.