Test Preparation Materials:Professional / Vocational Exams

Resource material at Bell Library for test preparation.

Sampling of Other Occupation and Career Exam Preps in LearningExpress

Other occupations such as Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Military, and more are represented here.

  • Log in to the Learning Express database.  (Off-campus users will need to "authenticate" themselves by entering their Island I.D. and password .  These are the same as for BlackBoard and SAIL.)
  • Log in to your LearningExpress account with the e-mail address and password you've chosen specifically for this database.
  • From the "All Centers" tab near the top of the page, select "Career Center Plus".
  • Select "Prepare for an Occupation Exam".

Teaching

Each manual features a list of the domains and competencies that will be tested, strategies for answering multiple-choice questions, and sample test questions and an answer key with rationales

  • Log in to the Learning Express database.  (Off-campus users will need to "authenticate" themselves by entering their Island I.D. and password. These are the same as for Canvas and SAIL.)
  • Log in to your LearningExpress account with the e-mail address and password you've chosen specifically for this database.
  • Type TExES into the Learning Express earch box - you could also search more specifically for TExES PPR, TExES Core, Praxis, or Praxis Core.

Note: you must "register" or login in order to pull up the full text of the test prep material. This is free since the library subscribes to the database.

This link will take you to resources which will help you prep for the ELAR Exams 4-8 (#113) and 7-12 (#231).

Nursing

Nursing School Practice Entrance Tests

Practice tests that help you prepare for exams such as the HESI, which helps predict success on the NCLEX-RN for licensure in nursing.

  • Log in to the LearningExpress database.  (Remote users will need to "authenticate" themselves by entering their Island I.D. and password for off-campus access.  These are the same as for BlackBoard and SAIL.)
  • Log in to your LearningExpress account with the e-mail address and password you've chosen specifically for this database.
  • From the "All Centers" tab near the top of the page, select "Career Center Plus".
  • Select "Prepare for an Entrance Exam".
  • Select "Prepare for Nursing School Entrance Tests"

Prep for Licensure Exam

The NCLEX-RN exam is one of the tests for which practice material is available.  It is required in order to practice nursing in Texas.

  • Log in to the LearningExpress database.  (Remote users will need to "authenticate" themselves by entering their Island I.D. and password for off-campus access.  These are the same as for Canvas and SAIL.)
  • Log in to your LearningExpress account with the e-mail address and password you've chosen specifically for this database.
  • Type "NCLEX-RN" into the search box.  

StatPearls offers quiz banks on all nursing board exams, including NCLEX RN exams.

Subjects: Test Preparation