EDUC 5351 Course Guide:Find Articles

Journals

Use this link to find online and print journals available through Bell Library.

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus access to some Bell Library databases and services is available for TAMU-CC users only.

Students

Access requires your Island ID, the same username and password you use for Blackboard, wireless access, and logging into the computers in the labs.

Faculty & staff

Access requires your Active Directory/Outlook username and password.

More information can be found on our Off-Campus Users page.

Searching Research Databases: Accessing

Research Guide and Database Link

The library subscribes to Education research databases that contain abstracts and full text to resources for student use. A full list of these and other useful databases are available in the main Education Research Guide. These databases can be individually accessed and searched by selecting the 'databases' link on the library home page and navigating to a database.

Quick Search

Quick Search on Bell Library's Homepage

The Quick Search allows you to search across many databases as well as the library catalog in one place - see the column on the right of this page for more information. For help using any of these databases, contact a librarian.

Searching Research Databases: Tips and Tricks

Searching for Resources

Use keywords, phrases, and Boolean phrases (AND, OR, NOT) to search the databases for relevant results. Iterate through different combinations of terms and use synonyms to retrieve more results.

For instance if you search for the phrase "cultural competency" in combination with phrases like "language differences", "gender", or "racial differences" you will retrieve some results. You might retrieve different results if you use synonymous phrases like “cultural differences”, “cultural context”, “cultural literacy”, “cultural pluralism”, “multicultural education”, and “cross cultural training”. One good place to find these synonymous terms are in the Subject field on result records.

Searching for resources is an iterative process. You must use different terms in different combination across different databases. Each new combination might return different results.

Refining Results

Use the filters in the left column of the results page to limit and refine your results. When using QuickSearch it may be helpful to limit by Content Provider to narrow results to only those from Education databases.

Interlibrary Loan

If you need anything Bell Library doesn't own, Interlibrary Loan is the service that can find and deliver those materials to you!


Usually, we'll be able to get the material to you in a few days, but a hard copy (like a full book or journal issue) will take us a little longer.


Don't forget: If you're a distance learner and need print items, we can use FedEx to get the item to you.