Pacific War Online - HIST 4350 - Narratives of World War II in the Pacific - Research Guides at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi

Online Resources

WWII Records - National Archives
National Archives WWII Records
Experiencing War: Stories From the Veterans History Project
This Library of Congress project includes numerous first-person accounts by veterans of the Pacific conflict.
National WWII Museum
The digital collections of the National WWII Museum.
The Hawaii Nissei Story: Americans of Japanese Ancestry During World War II
Provides video clips of interviews with Hawaii Nisei veterans and selected spouses.
The Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
A wide variety of downloadable maps, collected by the University of Texas at Austin Library.
UNT WWII Collection
University of North Texas Digital Library collection including 600 WWII posters.
Lafeyette Asian Collections
The Asian collections from the Lafayette University Library digital collections.
Best History Sites - WWII
List of general WWII research resources.
Useful sites for researching Japan
A list of useful digital archives for researching Japan.
Guide to primary source collections
A page from a Washington State University Library guide listing primary source collections for researching the Pacific Theater.
Guide to WWII research
Bowling Green State University Library Guide to WWII research.

University of Hawai'i at Manoa Library Digital Collections

These image collections cover World War II and the years immediately following, to document both the war and its aftermath in Hawaiʻi and the Pacific. All are scanned from physical images held by the Pacific Collection or the University Archives. The image above is a poster from the War In the Pacific digital collection (see link below).

Hawaii War Records Depository Photographs
Includes roughly 1,500 photographs taken by the U.S. Army Signal Corps, the U.S. Navy, the Honolulu Star Bulletin and the Honolulu Advertiser between 1941 and 1946. All document the impact of World War II on Hawaiʻi.
Margo Duggan Collection: Slides of Micronesia and Hawaii, 1949-1954
Images of early post-WWII Micronesia, taken by a civilian employee of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands administration.
Trust Territory Archives Photograph Collection
Early post-WWII images of Micronesia, most taken by various government agencies. Includes some WWII era photos, as well as photos documenting damage of the war. (To find images, use the term war in search box.)
War in the Pacific
The images displayed here are drawn from several distinct art and photograph collections held in the Pacific Collection. The images cover several geographic regions and time periods. Taken as a whole, they document multiple facets of WWII Pacific, from the brutal and the tragic to the mundane day-to-day existence of life in a war zone.

Online Film Resources

The photo above is from the film A Walk Through the Past (Part II), which was produced by Micronesian Seminar, and is freely available online (to view the video, click here or follow the Micronesian Seminar link below for a listing of all titles available online). Mouse over links for description -- items marked with an asterisk (**) are only available to UH-Mānoa students, faculty and staff, with log-in required. In addition to these online films, numerous DVDs and VHS titles are available through Sinclair Library's Wong Audio/Visual Center; all are included in the library's Voyager online catalog.)

**Fifty Years of Silence
Documentary film which tells the story of the thousands of Japanese-Americans who served in World War II as linguists and language specialists for the Intelligence Service.
**Guam: The Legacy of War
While the flames at Pearl Harbor were still burning, Japanese forces overwhelmed American troops on Guam and occupied the island. When the U.S. military liberated the island, it began buying land for next to nothing. Today, Guam's inhabitants want fair compensation.
**Windward Oahu: The War Years
Historians Mars Chang, Richard Miller, Thomas Higa, Budd Murray, Cy Gillette, Henrietta Chang, David Akui, Robert Belt, Ron Deisseroth and Bill Kaleleike present their recollections of what Windward Oahu was like during World War II.
Internet Archive: Movies
A collection of open-access films, which includes content on World War II in the Pacific. (Tip: Use the "advanced search" mode for better results.)
Micronesian Seminar
The Micronesian Seminar video studio has produced more than 68 videos on health care, migration, history, youth, land, education, economics, business, and social issues. Most are available for free online viewing.
Moving Images of the Pacific Islands: A Guide To Films and Videos
A database of over 3,400 entries on films related to the Pacific Islands—i.e., produced about the Pacific Islands or Islanders or filmed in the Islands. In addition, it includes many films written by, directed by, produced by, or starring Pacific Islanders. The majority of these films will be available at UH-Mānoa's Wong Audio/Visual Center, and will also be cataloged in the library's Voyager catalog; however this database sometimes includes information not included in the Voyager records.
With paintbrush, not gun experiences of an Army artist in the Pacific
An Army artist talks about his experiences during World War II in Papua New Guinea, Philippines, and Japan. He also returns to those areas after the war to collect art.

Attribution

This page of the guide is based on World War II in the Pacific by Stu Dawrs at Research Guides, University of Hawaii at Manoa, Last updated 2015-12-08 09:39:06. https://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/pacwar

HIST 4350 - Narratives of World War II in the Pacific: Pacific War Online

Online Resources

University of Hawai'i at Manoa Library Digital Collections

Online Film Resources

Attribution