Research Guides: English Research Guide: Find Research Resources

Interlibrary Loan

If you need anything Bell Library doesn't own, Interlibrary Loan is the service that can find those materials to you!

Usually, we'll be able to get the material in a few days, but a hard copy (like a full book or journal issue) will take us a little longer.

Don't forget: If you are currently a registered Distance Learner with the Registrar's Office or designated as a Remote Researcher; you can have books from Bell Library’s Main Collection, and borrowed interlibrary loan materials, shipped directly to your home for free. We also supply a prepaid return label for your convenience.

Interlibrary Loan Logon Page
Click here to request an item the library doesn't own through Interlibrary Loan.
Interlibrary Loan Help
If you have questions or need some help requesting materials, you can contact your librarian or visit our ILL research guide.

Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Arts & Sciences Collections I - XV include the complete back runs of journals in many disciplines, with research journals in economics, history, political science, sociology, ecology, mathematics, statistics, etc..
Unlimited users.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of academic journals from Johns Hopkins Scholarly Press and other non-profit scholarly publishers. Journals cover literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
Unlimited simultaneous users allowed.
Content is updated irregularly.

Dictionary of Literary Biography
- This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to biographical and critical entries from the print resource of the same name. Entries on a wide variety of literary figures may be searched in multiple ways.

American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American Periodicals Series Online™ (APS Online) includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains information on classical and contemporary authors and their works. Obtain biographies of authors, bibliographies of all they have written, critical essays and contextual information. Search by the author, title of the work, or title of the periodical or journal.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains page images of every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700.
Includes Text Creation Project Collection 1&2

Journals

Use this link to find online and print journals available through Bell Library.

Find a Journal by Title

Don't Forget!

In a pdf file, you can use Ctrl "F" to find exact words and phrases in the text

In a book, you can do the same thing with the Index in the back of the book!

Additional Resources

Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
This collection combines videos, primary sources, reports, monographs, and photos, representing both personal and institutional perspectives, to provide historical context and primary resources for the growing fields of border(land) studies and migration studies.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
An index of catalogue records produced as part of The Nineteenth Century, a thirty-year publishing program based at the British Library which reproduces on microfiche a significant proportion of English-language works first published between 1801 and 1900. This index is cross-searchable with other key bibliographic resources for nineteenth-century studies. Includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature and The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900.
English-Corpora This link opens in a new window
English-Corpora.org is the most widely used collection of corpora (highly searchable collections of texts) anywhere in the world. The corpora have been used as the basis of thousands of academic articles, theses, and dissertations, and they form the backbone of courses on language and linguistics throughout the world, at all levels of instruction. Since the first corpora were released in 2005, a total of seventeen corpora have been created.

English Research Guide:Find Research Resources

Interlibrary Loan

Databases

Journals

Don't Forget!

Additional Resources