Research Guides: Public Administration Research Guide: Background Info

Research before Researching

There are some encyclopedias on the list to the right. While they might not count as sources for your reference list - they can be really useful for you! When you begin your research, don't be afraid to experiment and play around a bit.

The first stages of research are about getting a lay of the land. See what you can find... Association websites, news headlines, encyclopedias, and (yes!) Wikipedia - will all help you learn about ideas, names, and policies that will help you search smarter in academic sources!

Statistical Insight

ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Search statistical data from federal agencies, U.S. Congress, state governments, United Nations, and international organizations by data contained in the tables. Every table is linked to an abstract, which in turn contains a link to the full-text source document.

Reference Sources Online

Dictionary of Politics and Government
Terms covering world politics, international relations, local and national government and the European Union.
Key Concepts in Governance
Provides a clear introduction to the technical concepts and policies of contemporary governance through short definitional essays.
Key Concepts in Political Communication
This is a systematic and accessible introduction to the critical concepts, structures and professional practices of political communication.

The Public Administration Theory Primer
This book paints a full picture of how theories contribute to, and explain, what we know about public administration today.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides online reference from digitized reference sources. Searchable by reference source, by subject, or across all sources. Includes a concept mapping function to assist in broadening or narrowing searches. Reliable, reputable reference sources. Citation assistance is available for the most popular formats.
Encyclopædia Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica. Includes a Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary and Collegiate Thesaurus, World Atlas, Year in Review section, and historic Timeline.
Unlimited simultaneous users allowed.
Content is updated irregularly
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic access to reference books. Browse or search one reference source or all at one time. Content and/or interface may be translated into a selected languages upon request. Entries may be downloaded, and persistent URLS saved for future use.

Print Books

Understanding Public Administration by Michiel S. de Vries
This introduction examines public administration structures, processes and achievements, and the behavior and motivations of the administrators themselves. Internationally relevant and analyzing states at a range of different developmental stages, it examines the key themes and issues that dominate the field.
The Next Public Administration by by B. Guy Peters and Jon Pierre
This book explores public administration in the past, present and future, critically reviewing the modernization of public management reform.
Classics of Public Administration by Jay M. Shafritz; Albert C. Hyde
Straightforward and informative, this text begins its discussion with Woodrow Wilson and continues to today's political scientists.

Public Administration Research Guide:Background Info

Research before Researching

Statistical Insight

Reference Sources Online

Print Books