History Research Guide:Periodicals

Eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records are available in a user-friendly online environment. Collections include World War I Military Camp Newspapers, American County Histories, Woman's Suffrage Collection, Civil War documents, and more.

Includes Early American newspapers, Series 1 – 5 (1690 – 1922) and Hispanic American Newspapers (1808 - 1980). Part of the Archive of Americana. Unlimited simultaneous users allowed. Content is updated monthly

500+ titles representing over two centuries of print culture from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic. Covers all aspects of American society during this time period.

1000+ titles representing the Jacksonian Democracy era in history. Includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.

1800+ titles; topics include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.

1,100+ titles; topics include the events of the American Civil War, in addition to science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.

2,500+ titles; broad subject areas covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.

American independence, general interest, children's publications, journal articles for women, Civil War - magazines and journal articles.
Subject Area(s): History, Historical Periodicals, Social Sciences, Literature & Language
Coverage: 1740-1940

Primary source materials on the American West including correspondence, diaries, directories, journals, pamphlets, periodicals, manuscripts, rare printed works, trade cards, photographs, claim certificates, news sheets, brand books, broadsides, and artworks. Full color. Searchable.

This family of historical collections contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents, and ephemera printed in America over three centuries. Includes: Early American Imprints, Series I Evans (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819); America’s Historical Newspapers; American State Papers, 1789-1838; and U.S. Congressional Serial Set.

Archive of many of the Spanish language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the early 20th century, documenting the role of Mexican immigrants and providing an outlet for Hispanic voices. The newspapers date from the 1800’s to the 1950’s, representing locations such as Indiana and Missouri, although most locations focus on New Mexico and Texas cities and towns. Part of the Archive of Americana.