Research Guides: History Research Guide: Databases

General Primary Source Databases

This is a selection of general primary source databases that are available through Bell Library. You can find all of our primary source databases, including ones on specific historical topics, on this page.

Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records are available in a user-friendly online environment. Collections include World War I Military Camp Newspapers, American County Histories, Woman's Suffrage Collection, Civil War documents, and more.
American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922 This link opens in a new window
Digitized collection of slavery and abolition materials from the American Antiquarian Society. Fully searchable and includes books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera. Subjects covered include religion, freedmen, suffrage, insurrections, the slave trade and many others.
Archive of Americana This link opens in a new window
This family of historical collections contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents, and ephemera printed in America over three centuries. Includes: Early American Imprints, Series I Evans (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819); America’s Historical Newspapers; American State Papers, 1789-1838; and U.S. Congressional Serial Set.
Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800) This link opens in a new window
Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the renowned bibliography by Charles Evans. Part of the Archive of Americana
Early American Imprints, Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) This link opens in a new window
Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the distinguished bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. Part of the Archive of Americana.
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online This link opens in a new window
This collection includes previously unpublished historic audio recordings and their supporting field materials, bringing together 2,000 hours of audio recordings from field expeditions around the world, particularly from the 1960s through the 1980s.
Images of America: A History of American Life in Images and Texts This link opens in a new window
The collection is growing to 5,000 volumes, 650,000 pages, and more than a million images—covering thousands of towns and cultural groups in all 50 states.
Each book captures a piece of American history through primary documents and images.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
Database provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. This collection contains more than 100,000 pages of personal narratives, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Collection of women’s diaries and correspondence spanning more than 300 years that presents the personal experiences of hundreds of women, and is ideal for research in women’s studies, history, sociology, literature, genealogy, and other fields.
Slavery, Abolition, & Social Justice This link opens in a new window
Covers 1490-2007 and includes original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and images. Also includes a series of contextual essays with links directly to the primary sources discussed.

Historical Newspapers and Periodicals

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes Early American newspapers, Series 1 – 5 (1690 – 1922) and Hispanic American Newspapers (1808 - 1980). Part of the Archive of Americana. Unlimited simultaneous users allowed. Content is updated monthly
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: 1691-1820 (Series 1) This link opens in a new window
500+ titles representing over two centuries of print culture from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic. Covers all aspects of American society during this time period.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: 1821-1837 (Series 2) This link opens in a new window
1000+ titles representing the Jacksonian Democracy era in history. Includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: 1838-1852 (Series 3) This link opens in a new window
1800+ titles; topics include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: 1853-1865 (Series 4) This link opens in a new window
1,100+ titles; topics include the events of the American Civil War, in addition to science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: 1866-1877 (Series 5) This link opens in a new window
2,500+ titles; broad subject areas covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American independence, general interest, children's publications, journal articles for women, Civil War - magazines and journal articles.
Subject Area(s): History, Historical Periodicals, Social Sciences, Literature & Language
Coverage: 1740-1940
Atlantic Monthly Archive This link opens in a new window
Covers events and political issues through literary and cultural commentary. It includes more than 1,800 issues providing a broad view of 1857-2014. All Articles and cover pages are fully indexed and advertisements are fully searchable.
Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980) Series I This link opens in a new window
Archive of many of the Spanish language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the early 20th century, documenting the role of Mexican immigrants and providing an outlet for Hispanic voices. The newspapers date from the 1800’s to the 1950’s, representing locations such as Indiana and Missouri, although most locations focus on New Mexico and Texas cities and towns. Part of the Archive of Americana.

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus access to some Bell Library databases and services is available for TAMU-CC users only.
Students: Access requires your Island ID, the same username and password you use for Blackboard, wireless access, and logging into the computers in the labs.

Faculty & staff: Access requires your Active Directory/Outlook username and password.

More information can be found on our Off-Campus Users page.

History Research Guide:Databases

General Primary Source Databases

Historical Newspapers and Periodicals

Off-Campus Access