Research Guides: History Research Guide: Special Collections and Archives

TAMU-CC Archives and Special Collections

The Special Collections and Archives at TAMU-CC collects materials related to the history of Texas, particularly South Texas, Corpus Christi, and TAMU-CC. Most material is only available onsite in the Reading Room, room 205 on the second floor of Bell Library. See our Special Collections and Archives Policies for more information on accessing materials.

TAMU-CC Finding Aids
Collections of unique materials in the TAMU-CC Special Collections and Archives are described in our finding aids, available at this link. See sidebar for more information on finding aids.
TAMU-CC Digital Collections
A small amount of our archival material has been digitized and is available at this link.
TAMU-CC Special Collections Print and Microform Material
Information about print and microform materials in the TAMU-CC Special Collections is available in the main library catalog. Special Collections material is distinguished by a Library Location starting with "Spec Collections/." This link will enable you to do a search in the catalog with results limited only to Special Collections materials.
TAMU-CC Special Collections Website
For more information about the TAMU-CC Special Collections and Archives, including contact information, hours, policies, donations, events, exhibits, and more, visit the main TAMU-CC Special Collections website at this link.

Other Archives and Special Collections

Texas Archival Resources Online
TARO contains finding aids from repositories all over Texas. Materials relating to one person or historical event are sometimes dispersed across the state, so it may be helpful to consult TARO when you are doing in-depth primary source research on a Texas-related topic.
ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid contains information on archival collections across the United States and around the world.
The Portal to Texas History
A gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas.
*Includes a collection of Early Texas Newspapers
Bexar Archives Online
he Bexar Archives are the official Spanish documents that preserve the political, military, economic, and social life of the Spanish province of Texas and the Mexican state of Coahuila y Texas. They consist of 300,000 pages of diplomatic, military, religious, and other manuscript and printed records of the Spanish colonial province of Texas from 1717-1821 and the Mexican District of Bexar from 1822-1836.
Iowa Women's Archives
Migration is Beautiful is a digital humanities project drawn from the holdings of the Mujeres Latinas collections preserved in the Iowa Women’s Archives in the University of Iowa Libraries. The Migration is Beautiful website highlights the journeys Latinas and Latinos made to Iowa and situates the contributions of Latino communities within a broader understanding of Iowa’s history of migration and civil rights activism.
The Pronunciamiento in Independent Mexico 1821-1876
Free online database that includes full transcriptions of over 1500 Spanish pronunciamientos. Often defined as 'revolt', the pronunciamiento was a written protest/petition, generally drafted as a list of grievances or demands, signed by a group of individuals and/or corporate body (high-ranking officers, town council officials, villagers, members of a particular garrison, Indian pueblo, etc.) that could result in an armed rebellion if the government did not attend to them.
Chronicling America [Topics]: The Mexican Revolution
Borderlands [University of Arizona Special Collections]
Collections of archival materials as well as printed texts on the Borderlands of the Southwest and Northwest of Mexico, from Baja California to Tamaulipas, Mexico, documenting the region's culture and history, from colonial period to present, including accounts of Native Americans and their ancestors, the impact of Spanish and Mexican settlement, and the influx of Americans and others into the region during the 19th centur
Bracero History Archive
"collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.”
Dupee Mexican History Collection Broadsides
The Dupee Collection offers nearly 200 broadsides published after the Mexican republic secured its independence in 1821. Chronicled within the broadsides are Mexican partisan politics, religious and anti-clerical debates, popular literature and drama, domestic revolutions and armed conflict with the United States. Most are Spanish-language sources written by Mexican citizens and published in Mexico.

What is a finding aid?

A finding aid is a document that archivists create to help users understand what is in an archival collection. It usually will not list every item in a collection, but it will give an overview of a collection's contents to help a user determine if a collection is relevant to their research. A detailed description of the different elements of a finding aid is available on the Purdue University website here.

History Research Guide:Special Collections and Archives

TAMU-CC Archives and Special Collections

Other Archives and Special Collections

What is a finding aid?