Research Guides: EarthWeek: Library Resources

Journals

Check out the journals we have in these areas. Explore and see what you can find!

Films to Watch

Environmental Sciences
Pollution, environmental activism, sustainability, conservation, marine ecosystems...
Films on Demand: Environmental Science
Browse over 1,000 films, segments, and clips!
Ice on Fire
An eye-opening documentary that focuses on many never-before-seen solutions designed to slow down our escalating environmental crisis, ICE ON FIRE goes beyond the current climate change narrative and offers hope that we can actually stave off the worst effects of global warming.
Rachel Carson: The Woman Who Launched the Modern Environmental Movement
This film illuminates both the public and private life of the woman who launched the modern environmental movement and revolutionized how we understand our relationship with the natural world.
Science, Nature & Technology
Stream films from Kanopy - there are documentaries, independent films, and more!
Seed: The Untold Story
This film follows passionate seed-keepers protecting our 12,000 year-old food legacy. These farmers, scientists, lawyers and indigenous people are fighting a David and Goliath battle to defend the future of our food.

Research Guides

Biology Research Guide
by Aida Almanza-Ferro Last Updated Apr 23, 2025 210 views this year
Environmental Science Research Guide
by Aida Almanza-Ferro Last Updated Oct 21, 2024 479 views this year

While the Biology and Environmental Science Research Guides make a lot of sense, there are quite a few other guides that might help.

Public Administration sources will cover urban planning and development an sustainable architecture

Communication and Media Studies could offer sources on public relations, persuasion, and crisis communication

Business sources might offer up research on corporate efforts on sustainability and environmental impact of big business

In fact, most of our Research Guides will offer a variety of sources that cover different aspects of environmental topics! Pick a Guide and see what you can find!

Databases to Explore

Environmental Impact Statements
The National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) requires that U.S. federal agencies or anyone receiving federal funding prepare detailed analyses of any of their actions that significantly affect the quality of the environment. Almost all developments, such as roads, houses and airports, have an impact on the environment.
Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) are documents that help the government and the general public understand the effects of developments on the environment and to decide whether developments should go ahead.
Unlimited simultaneous users allowed.
Environmental Issues Online
Environmental Issues Online brings together multimedia materials (text, archival primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more.
Environmental Science and Pollution Management
Environmental biotechnology, engineering, pollution - journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications in over 6000 publications.
Environment Complete
Environment Complete offers coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Food Studies Online
A first-of-its-kind database, bringing together rare and hard-to-find archival content with visual ephemera, text, and video. Food studies is a relatively new field of study, and its importance is felt in many major disciplines. It has social, historical, economic, cultural, religious, and political implications that reach far beyond what is consumed at the dinner table. Includes 100,000 pages of primary archival materials, images, and secondary works, plus a curated selection of documentaries and series.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
JSTOR Sustainability Collection
The Sustainability collection on JSTOR is a growing and highly interdisciplinary set of content that covers more than 140 journals in the core disciplines of environmental studies, business & economics, law, environmental science, aquatic and biological sciences, ecology, and urban studies and the built environment.
Natural Science Collection (ProQuest)
Natural Science Collection (including AGRICOLA) allows researchers in the fields of agriculture, marine biology, oceanography, meteorology, geology, biology, ecology, and the multidisciplinary field of environmental science – and more – to conduct everything from comprehensive literature reviews to simple Google-style searches with full-text results accommodating the needs of scholars at all levels.
Nature.com
Full-text from the Nature Publishing Group, including current research in fields such as chemistry, biology, neuroscience and genetics.

Ebooks

Cultural Sustainabilities
Cultural Sustainabilities presents twenty-three essays by musicologists and ethnomusicologists, anthropologists, folklorists, ethnographers, documentary filmmakers, musicians, artists, and activists, each asking a particular question or presenting a specific local case study about cultural and environmental sustainability.
Green Parties, Green Future
Over the past four decades the world has seen a 'green awakening'. Green parties have been elected to parliaments and councils all over the world. A common set of environmental priorities have been promoted by green internationalisation and these parties are playing an increasing role at all levels of political decision-making.
Growing Local
In an increasingly commercialized world, the demand for better quality, healthier food has given rise to one of the fastest growing segments of the U.S. food system: locally grown food.
Sustainability, Human Well-Being, and the Future of Education
Using case studies drawn from Finland and the US, chapter authors explore various aspects of learning and education system design through the lenses of sustainability and human well-being to evaluate how our understanding and practice of education must transform.
Understanding Plastics Recycling
This book shows the true and often-underestimated market potential of plastics recycling, with analysis from economic, ecological, and technical perspectives. It is aimed at both technical and non-technical readers, including decision makers in material suppliers, plastic product manufacturers, governmental agencies, educators, and anyone with a general interest in plastics recycling.
Urban Sustainability Transitions
This book provides new insights into how sustainability transitions unfold in different types of cities across the world and explores possible strategies for governing urban transitions, emphasising the co-evolution of material and institutional transformations in socio-technical and socio-ecological systems.