Research Guides: Writing Studies Research Guide: Find Books

Interlibrary Loan

If you need anything Bell Library doesn't own, Interlibrary Loan is the service that can find those materials to you!

Usually, we'll be able to get the material in a few days, but a hard copy (like a full book or journal issue) will take us a little longer.

Don't forget: If you are currently a registered Distance Learner with the Registrar's Office or designated as a Remote Researcher; you can have books from Bell Library’s Main Collection, and borrowed interlibrary loan materials, shipped directly to your home for free. We also supply a prepaid return label for your convenience.

Interlibrary Loan/ILLiad Logon Page
Click here to request an item the library doesn't own through Interlibrary Loan.
Interlibrary Loan Help
If you have questions or need some help requesting materials, you can contact your librarian or visit our ILL research guide.

Books

Composition, Rhetoric, and Disciplinarity
Call Number: PE1404 .C62557 2018
Asks a fundamental question: can Composition and Rhetoric, as a discipline, continue its historical commitment to pedagogy without sacrificing equal attention to other areas, such as research and theory? In response, contributors to the volume address disagreements about what it means to be called a discipline rather than a profession or a field; elucidate tensions over the defined breadth of Composition and Rhetoric; and consider the roles of research and responsibility as Composition and Rhetoric shifts from field to discipline.
Contemporary Rhetorical Theory
Call Number: P301 .C574 1999
This indispensable text brings together important essays on the themes, issues, and controversies that have shaped the development of rhetorical theory since the late 1960s. Topics addressed include problems of defining rhetoric, the relationship between rhetoric and epistemology, the rhetorical situation, reason and public morality, the nature of the audience, the role of discourse in social change, rhetoric in the mass media, and challenges to rhetorical theory from the margins.
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric and Composition
Call Number: PN172 .E53 1996
A reference encyclopedia that surveys principles, concepts, applications, practical tools, and major thinkers.
Exploring Composition Studies
Call Number: PE1404 .R524 2012
An introduction to the field of composition studies as it stands in the early twenty-first century. The book offers a careful exploration of this diverse field, focusing specifically on scholarship of writing and composing.
The Norton Book of Composition Studies
Call Number: PE1404 .N676 2009
An indispensable resource for every scholar in the field--both as textbook and as professional reference.
The Present State of Scholarship in the History of Rhetoric
Call Number: PN183 .P7 2010
Constructed around bibliographical surveys of both primary and secondary works addressing the Classical, Medieval, Renaissance, and eighteenth through twentieth century periods within the history of rhetoric.
Rhetoric and Writing Studies in the New Century
Call Number: P301.5.S63 R484 2017
This collection of essays investigates the historiography of rhetoric, global perspectives on rhetoric, and the teaching of writing and rhetoric, offering diverse viewpoints.
A Rhetoric for Writing Teachers by Erika C. Lindemann
Call Number: PE1404 .L53 2001
From answering the question "Why teach writing?" to offering guidance in managing group work and responding to assignments, A Rhetoric for Writing Teachers provides a comprehensive introduction to the teaching of writing.
The SAGE Handbook of Rhetorical Studies
Call Number: PN175 .S15 2009
Surveys the latest advances in rhetorical scholarship, synthesizing theories and practices across major areas of study in the field and pointing the way for future studies. The Handbook aims to introduce a new generation of students to rhetorical study and provide a deeply informed and ready resource for scholars currently working in the field.
Sourcebook on Rhetoric by James Jasinski
Call Number: PN172 .J37 2001
This book is designed to introduce readers to the language of contemporary rhetorical studies. The primary emphasis is on the contemporary tradition of rhetorical studies as it has emerged in the discipline of speech communication.
Theorizing Composition by Mary Lynch Kennedy
Call Number: PE1404 .T473 1998
A guide to the multiplicity of theories that have emerged to form the disciplinary foundation of composition studies. The volume consists of 66 entries, each of which is written by an expert contributor and focuses on a particular theory or group of theories.
What Is Rhetoric? by Michel Meyer
Call Number: P301 .M44 2017
This book offers a new approach to the principles and functioning of rhetoric. Combines the social aspects of rhetoric, such as the negotiation of distance between speakers, with the theory of emotions.

Suggested Search Terms

Possible search terms to use either alone or in combination when searching the library catalog.
EXAMPLE: Rhetoric--English Language

Rhetoric
English Language
Composition and Exercises
Study and Teaching
Handbooks, manual
Communication
Visual Communication
Communication in Politics
Writing
Technical Writing

Online Library Catalog

Ebooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic access to reference books. Browse or search one reference source or all at one time. Content and/or interface may be translated into a selected languages upon request. Entries may be downloaded, and persistent URLS saved for future use.

WAC Clearinghouse eBooks
Provides access to more than 85 books. All are available for free viewing and/or download.

Open Educational Resources for English

Reading and Writing Successfully in College: A Guide for Students
This textbook provides students with guidelines for understanding writing tasks as intellectual work using Bloom’s Taxonomy and for treating the writing process as a set of variable activities that move along a trajectory from idea or assignment to a finished product. The book also includes chapters on strengthening reading strategies and on finding, evaluating, and using sources effectively.