Research Guides: Writing Studies Research Guide: Background Info

Online Encyclopedia Entries

For introductory information regarding definitions and historical contexts of key concepts, try an online encyclopedia or dictionary. These are also great resources for finding additional concepts surrounding the subject and sources.

Examples:

Communication of Ideas: Orality and the Advent of Writing
From Gale Virtual Reference Library
Entry found in New Dictionary of the History of Ideas.
Composition (Language Arts)
From Credo Reference
Entry found in The Columbia Encyclopedia.
Composition Studies
From Credo Reference
Entry found in the Encyclopedia of Postmodernism.
Rhetoric
From Gale Virtual Reference Library
Entry found in the Encyclopedia of Communication and Information.
Rhetoric
From Credo Reference
Entry found in The Encyclopedia of Identity.
Rhetoric
From Encyclopedia Britannica (Online Academic Edition).
Teaching of Writing
From Gale Virtual Reference Library
Entry found in the Encyclopedia of Education.

Encyclopedia & Reference Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides online reference from digitized reference sources. Searchable by reference source, by subject, or across all sources. Includes a concept mapping function to assist in broadening or narrowing searches. Reliable, reputable reference sources. Citation assistance is available for the most popular formats.
Encyclopædia Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica. Includes a Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary and Collegiate Thesaurus, World Atlas, Year in Review section, and historic Timeline.
Unlimited simultaneous users allowed.
Content is updated irregularly
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic access to reference books. Browse or search one reference source or all at one time. Content and/or interface may be translated into a selected languages upon request. Entries may be downloaded, and persistent URLS saved for future use.

Writing Studies Research Guide:Background Info

Online Encyclopedia Entries

Encyclopedia & Reference Databases