Research Guides: Political Science Research Guide: Background Info

Government Information Web Sites

Government Documents Guide
This Federal Government Documents research guide is designed to help you find research materials online and in the library.
CIA World Factbook
The CIA World Factbook is a source of relatively up-to-date information about countries around the world. The site contains reference maps, country profiles, rank order lists (on numerous demographic/social variables), and pictures of flags of the world’s nations.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides online reference from digitized reference sources. Searchable by reference source, by subject, or across all sources. Includes a concept mapping function to assist in broadening or narrowing searches. Reliable, reputable reference sources. Citation assistance is available for the most popular formats.
ProQuest Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information from the Congressional Information Service. An index of congressional publications, legislative histories, testimonies, Congressional Record, Federal Register and National Journal. Also includes information on members and committees, Congressional Hearings A (1824-1979) & B (1980-2003), and Congressional Research Digital Collection (1830-2003).
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
This service has been upgraded. An online research service that provides a comprehensive collection of news and law related information for students. News content includes newspapers and broadcast transcripts. Law content includes both analytical sources (like law reviews and journals) and primary sources (like U.S. Federal and state cases and codes, statutes, and regulations).

govinfo
Govinfo provides free public access to more than a million official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Texas Legislature Online
Official clearinghouse for bills, legislation and all other activites of the Texas House and Senate. Users can also track legislation on the web site.
Texas Judicial Branch
Court information, Rules & Forms, Judicial Organizations, Publications, and much more.

Concise Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History
With 150 accessible articles written by more than 130 leading experts, this essential reference provides authoritative introductions to some of the most important and talked-about topics in American history and politics, from the founding to today.
Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics
The Routledge Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics provides a unique reference source for students and academics covering all aspects of global international relations and the contemporary discipline across IR's major subject divisions of diplomacy, military affairs, international political economy, and theory.
Encyclopedia of Political Communication
Political communication began with the earliest studies of democratic discourse by Aristotle and Plato. However, modern political communication relies on an interdisciplinary base which draws on concepts from communication, political science, journalism, sociology, psychology, history, rhetoric, and others.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics and International Relations
The dictionary is international in its coverage and will prove invaluable to students and academics studying politics and related disciplines, as well as politicians, journalists, and the general reader seeking clarification of political terms.