Skip to main content

@ Your Library

Did you know about this library resource or service? Learn something new about your Island library today!

The Freedom to Make

Patriotic themed graphic with stars and stripes, text shows The Freedom to Make, Constitution Day, September 17

Come see the library’s I-Create makerspace in action. Bell Library will be performing a live demonstration of the printing press and laser cutter/engraver to create commemorative Constitution themed giveaways! Stop by and get yours while supplies last!

Tuesday, September 17
12:00 – 2:00 pm
Library Breezeway

Workshop: Craft Your Resume

Open laptop displaying an document open on the screen

Writing a standout resume is a daunting task. Come learn practical tips and tricks on what to include on your resume and how to write simply while still highlighting your strengths and experiences.

Class taught by Career Services.

See more upcoming library workshops.

New I-Create Lab Pricing

I-Create Lab

The new pricing structure for the I-Create Lab goes into effect Monday, August 19. View a list of all I-Create Lab charges.

For more information, you can call the I-Create Lab at 361-825-2311 or email I-CreateLab@tamucc.edu.

 

Islander Cell Phone Photography Show

Islander Cell Phone Photography Show, July 10 - September 15. Featuring photos from the talented Islander community

The Fourth Annual Islander Cell Phone Photography Show

The show features photographs captured by your cell phone, which will be displayed in the Library’s downstairs atrium exhibition space from Wednesday, July 10, through Sunday, September 15.

For more information, contact Jennifer Anderson at jennifer.anderson@tamucc.edu; or call ext. 3321.

Play Board Games at the Library

A variety of board games stacked on the shelf.

Looking for something fun to do in the library? We currently offer 38 games of different varieties that you and your friends can use inside the library. These games range from time honored board games like Monopoly and Candyland to games like trivia based on the TV show the Walking Dead.

List of available games

Islander Faculty and Staff Exhibition

Islander Faculty and Staff Art Exhibition

Join us as we celebrate the Opening Reception for the Islander Faculty and Staff Art Exhibition. The exhibition is open to all faculty and staff members and their work will be on display from May 2 through June 30!

Reception
Friday, May 10, 2019
6:00pm - 8:00pm
1st Floor Gallery, Bell Library

Related Subject Guide: Islander Faculty and Staff Art Exhibition by Trisha Hernandez

Across the Pond DVD Display

British flag in background with crown. Across the Pond British TV and Movies Display

Keep calm and watch a British movie or tellybox series with our Across the Pond DVD display! The display is located near the library entrance next to the Circulation Desk.

Selections have been lovingly curated by our in-house Media Maven!

Cheerio, ‘ol chap, that’s bloody well right!

President Quintanilla: Public Speaking

President Quintanilla speaking on stage with the following text, Workshop. President Quintanilla: Public Speaking

Ever wondered how President Quintanilla came to be such a phenomenal speaker? Now's your chance to find out!

President Quintanilla will teach us about public speaking tips and tricks!
Tuesday, April 16
at 3:30 pm
Room #208, Bell Library 2nd Floor

Seating is limited.

Fine Amnesty Food Drive

Fine Amnesty Food Drive, April 1 - 14

Got library fines? Want a free Whataburger? From April 1 – 14, one non-perishable food item donated to the library will remove $2.00 in fines. You'll also receive a voucher for one free Whataburger.

Outstanding Author Speaker Series

Yellow background with old time microphone image advertisement for Outstanding Author Speaker Series

Join us as we celebrate the work of Dr. Michael Ramirez.

Thursday, April 4 at 2:00 pm, on the library's second floor, outside of Special Collections and Archives. An opportunity for questions and conversations will follow the event and refreshments will be served.

Find more information about Dr. Ramirez.

Women's History Month DVD Display

Celebrate Women’s History Month by watching a movie or TV series featuring a strong female character or female ensemble cast! The display is located near the library entrance next to the Circulation Desk. Selections have been lovingly curated by our in-house Media Maven!

CCISD Youth Art Month

CCISD Youth Art Month Flyer

CCISD Youth Art Month Exhibition and Reception: The Mary and Jeff Bell Library at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi will host the CCISD Youth Art Month Exhibition in the downstairs and upstairs exhibit areas through the month of March. The exhibit will feature work from both CCISD middle and high school students with art mediums including collage, painting, drawing, printmaking, photography, and sculpture. The exhibit will give local art students the opportunity to come to campus to meet Island University Art Department professors and staff and learn more about the programs offered. A closing reception will be held on Tuesday, April 2 at 6:00 p.m. at the Bell Library. The exhibit and reception are free and open to the public. For more information, contact Jennifer Anderson at email jennifer.anderson@tamucc.edu.

100-year Hurricane Anniversary Display

Chapparral Street after the 1919 Hurricane

On September 14, 1919 a hurricane struck just below the city of Corpus Christi around the area of Baffin Bay. This September marks the 100-year anniversary of the storm. Check out our display commemorating anniversary of the 1919 hurricane located on the 2nd Floor outside Special Collections and Archives.

For decades the people of Corpus Christi believed they were guarded against hurricanes because they were built on a bluff above sea level. Indianola and Galveston had both been devastated by massive hurricanes, but Corpus Christi had escaped major storm damage. The citizens believed the storm would pass with little damage.

The day went by as many others had, they did not know the horror that awaited them. The false sense of security of the natural advantages of Corpus Christi’s landscape would be lost in just a few short hours. Much of the city was built below the bluff in the Downtown and North Beach areas. These areas offered little protection from storm surge.

In the early morning hours of September 14, the storm moved across the area. The people had less than a day to prepare and many ignored those warnings. Corpus Christi understood that no one was immune from hurricanes after this night. The seawall, breakwater, and other measures were put in place to thwart storm surge. Hurricane warnings would not be ignored again.

The Hurricane of 1919 left devastation across the city, hundreds lost their lives, and in the wake of the storm a city that needed to rebuild. The display shows the destruction of the city in the storm’s wake, the communication after the storm, the literature about the storm, and photographs of downtown today.

Photographs taken of Hurricane Damage

Upcoming Library Workshops

Laptop keyboard with text for upcoming library workshops

Check out these upcoming library workshops.

Strategies for Effective Revision and Peer Review with the Writing Center

Tuesday, February 12
3:30 pm
Library Conference Room, #208

This workshop introduces students to the concepts of revision and peer review by defining these terms, emphasizing their value in the writing process, and offering suggestions for providing and receiving effective feedback. Following the workshop, students are asked to switch papers with a peer and engage in the peer review process.

Decoding (Writing) Assignments

Tuesday, February 19
3:30 pm
Library Conference Room, #208

When you get a writing assignment, how do you know what your professors want? How do you know what kinds of language and format will work for that class (or job)? All writing occurs within contexts that include the values, knowledge, and beliefs of the people engaged in reading and writing it. Academic writing reflects the values, knowledge, and beliefs of the discipline (History, Biology, Art) within which it occurs. This workshop, presented by the College of Liberal Arts, will help you find out what your professors are expecting, and a few tips for success. Please bring writing prompts if you have them!  

CNC Routers in the I-Create Lab

Tuesday, March 5
3:30 pm
I-Create Lab

Learn the applications of a CNC Router and use one yourself at this I-Create Lab workshop!

New DVD Display

Black TV screen with hand holding remote

Stop by the Circulation Desk to checkout the newest DVD display with over 40 titles.

The display will be up until the end of February. It showcases entire series of television shows that are no longer on the air, perfect for staying cozy on the couch and binge watching during the south Texas winter.

I-Create Lab Open House

I-Create Lab open house

The library is hosting an open house for the new I-Create Lab with workshops and demonstrations throughout the day.

Tuesday, January 29 - Thursday, January 31
9:00 am - 2:00 pm
I-Create is located on the second floor of the Bell Library.

Question of the Week

Question of the Week ? with background of dry erase markers falling onto a stool

Check out the Whiteboard Question of the Week on the 2nd floor. We want to know about how you feel about your library – so we’ll ask a new question each Monday. We’re curious, so we’ll ask about other things too!

This week’s question, “What are you looking forward to this semester?”

New Library Blog

Library Blog

The library is often thought of as the central hub of campus but few people really know about the amazing resources, services, and programs available. This blog will share news and other important library information, show you easy tips and tricks for getting the most out of library databases and other resources, and discuss issues and new trends we face in the library field and how they affect you. We’ll reveal behind the scenes details and insights into the inner workings of the library and have some fun along the way!

New Library Blog

Need something to watch?

screenshot of Kanopy promotion

Can't make it to the library? Access streaming videos online. Kanopy offers over 26,000 documentary, educational, and feature films. Access Kanopy from the library's database list or download the app. There's also a Roku channel to download to watch on your TV!

Kanopy streaming videos
Other video streaming databases

Read for Enjoyment!

blue sign that reads, popular reading with a shelf of books below.

Now that finals are over, pick up a book from our Popular Reading collection to read for the pure enjoyment of it. Looking for a little mystery in your life? How about a little romance? Maybe you're up for an edge of your seat adventure? Whatever your mood, you can find it in the Popular Reading collection. Happy reading!

Online Library Resources Outage

triangle sign with black exclamation point

Access to online library resources will be offline for a brief time the morning of Friday, Dec 14 from approximately 8:45 - 10:00 am. During that time our online library resources will be unavailable.

We waited until exams were done, but if you have questions or need assistance during this time, please Ask Us via chat or call 361-825-2609.

Finals Week Break Zones

three white boards covered in inspiring messages for students during finals

When you need a quick break from your finals week studies, stop by either the downstairs or upstairs Finals Week Break Zones to grab some coloring sheets, word search puzzles, and more.

Looking for some motivation? Visit the motivation board near the library’s entrance to get inspired or post something to inspire others. Keep with it, Islanders, you’re almost there!!

BFA Exhibits on Display

three abstract sculptures on white table

Come see three BFA Exhibits on display at the library. Students pursuing a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree must present a senior project during their final semester. The Bell Library is one of the locations that students can reserve for exhibiting their work.

This semester we have the pleasure of hosting three shows at the same time. Jade Goldick’s Symbiosis of Colour is on the first floor. Mandy Garcia’s Force Majeure and Erica Garcia’s Stage Presence are on the second floor. All three installations were part of An Evening of Fine Art Exhibitions at TAMUCC on November 16 with receptions and an opportunity to meet the artists. The exhibits will be available through December 6.

Night Against Procrastination

open laptop with title of workshop, Night Against Procrastination

Finals are just around the corner! On November 26, come to the library for a space where you can study for your upcoming tests, write your papers, fuel yourself with munchies and caffeine, and find a bit of Zen during scheduled breaks. Your librarians and the Writing Center consultants will be on hand for any help you might need!

November 26
From 4:30-9:00 pm
Room 208

Now on Instagram!

replica image of @tamucclibrary Instagram page with toy dinosaurs on carpet inside the library

Bell Library is now on Instagram!

You’ve seen our tweets and posts on Facebook. Now follow us on Instagram @tamucclibrary.

We’ll be posting about all the fun, interesting stuff going on in the library so you can stay up to date.

Outstanding Author Speaker Series

Outstanding author speaker series on blue background with old-timey looking microphone

Join us as we celebrate the work of Dr. Chuntao Liu. We will gather at 2:00 pm on Wednesday, November 14 on the library's second floor, outside of Special Collections and Archives. An opportunity for questions and conversations will follow the event, refreshments will be served.

More information about Dr. Chuntao and the Outstanding Author Speaker Series

International Games Day

logo for international games day

Come celebrate International Games Day at the library! On Saturday, November 10 we will have a variety of games including an escape room, giant chess, console video games, board and card games.

International Games Week is an initiative to reconnect communities through their libraries around the educational, recreational, and social value of all types of games.

The first 5 Participants Win 1 Free Gamer’s Swag Bag!!

Escape Room details:

  • Four time slots available on a first come, first served basis.
  • Sign up inside the library beginning at 10:00 am on Saturday, November 10.

Escape the Library!

Escape the Library text on yellow, red, and blue background with image of ticking clock and closed door.

Do you and your group have what it takes to ESCAPE THE LIBRARY?

During the week of November 5-9, the Mary and Jeff Bell Library challenges the Islander Community to take part in an immersive adventure game! Departments and student organizations are encouraged to sign up for one of the many time slots and compete for the fastest escape room time!

Winners will receive recognition for their achievement, a tasty catered treat, and of course bragging rights as the year's champion.

Update: Sign ups are full but there will be four time slots available on Saturday, November 10 on a first come, first served basis. A sign up sheet will be available inside the library at 10:00 am on November, 10.
Sign your group up!

Workshop: Everything is a Remix

laptop keyboard with title and date of workshop

When is it OK to copy and use work created by other people? Where can you publish your work online? Come to our workshop to discuss copyright, explore open content, and learn about different digital publishing platforms.

Tuesday, October 30
3:30 pm
2nd Floor of the Library (near Special Collections & Archives)

Fine Amnesty Food Drive

Fine Amnesty Food Drive Announcement

Food insecurity is a problem that affects campuses across the nation. Every non-perishible food item donated October 15 – November 5, 2018 removes $2.00 in library fines.

Most Desired Items

  • Jelly (not just grape!)
  • Breakfast cereal
  • Spaghetti sauce & pasta
  • Macaroni and cheese
  • Tuna (pouch or can)
  • Canned chicken

All donations benefit Izzy’s Food Pantry a partnership of the Coastal Bend Food Bank.

Wikipedia Edit-A-Thon

Wikipedia Edit-A-Thon

The Bell Library is hosting an edit-a-thon focused on developing Wikipedia articles around key figures and moments in Hispanic history and civil rights. Students, faculty, staff and community members of all experience levels are encouraged to participate!

● Panel presentation

● Learn to edit the free encyclopedia

● Help others learn about Wikipedia

Chat with editors, librarians, and scholars, and contribute your knowledge.

Reference materials, lunch and editing help provided. Bring your laptop, power cord, and ideas for entries that need updating or creation.

Spooky DVD Display

Close up image of row of horror themed DVDs on a display shelf

The spooky season is upon us. Take a break from your studies and indulge in a movie or TV show. Check out our DVD display just inside the doors lovingly curated by our in-house media maven. We have something for every taste; horror, suspense, gory thrills, even creature features.

Banned Books Week

Image of theatre students dressed as Max and a wild thing from the book Where the Wild Things Are

Celebrate Banned Books Week with displays, activities, and interactive events!

Stop by the library anytime this week to explore our interactive display, learn more about the banning and challenging of books, leave comments about your thoughts on the issue, and enter to win amazing prizes! A special display will highlight banned/challenged musical pieces as well.

On Thursday, September 27, 1:00-4:00 pm, stop by for the library’s Open House event where you can explore the library through a scavenger hunt, interact with banned book characters (brought to life by Theatre students), purchase a custom printmaking shirt for $20 ($10 if you bring your own item to print on), and so much more!

More information

September Workshops

Image of girl studying with head leaning over notebook and laptop

Think, learn, and grow by attending our September Workshops! The Library is partnering with the Writing Center and Career Services to offer workshops during the month of September. All workshops will be hosted on the 2nd floor of the Bell Library and begin at 3:30 pm.

Workshop dates and topics include:

  • September 18th - Career Services: How to Craft a Resume;
  • September 25th - Bell Library: Zotero, Your Personal Research Assistant;

Be sure to check back soon for details on our October Workshops!

Welcome Back!

Picture of Bell Library sign on side of library building

A warm Island welcome to our new and returning students. We're excited that it's time for the fall semester to begin! If you have any questions, let us know – we’re happy to help!

The Terror

The Terror on AMC

Did you tune in to AMC's The Terror? Looking for more information behind this devastating expedition? Check out the library's amazing video streaming database, Kanopy, to view PBS' Arctic Ghost Ship, an amazing documentary about the plights of the HMS Erebus and HMS Terror.

South Texas Stories

Portrait of Rachel Carson

Librarians from the Mary and Jeff Bell Library worked with Dr. Jen Brown’s Public History class this past spring to create some unique online exhibits. Alston Cobourn, Lisa Louis, and Ed Warga helped students locate sources and hone their research skills to put together Environmental Narratives of the Texas Coastal Bend and The Mexican American Fight for Freedom. Students learned how to locate specific sources to showcase oral history collections. They also gained an understanding of the importance of archival preservation, metadata, and increasing the accessibility of digital collections. The project will continue to grow, so keep your eye out for more South Texas Stories.

Exciting New Donations!

Items from the Green Donation

We are pleased to announce new additions to the William and Patricia Green Surveying Records that reflect the service of and relationship between William Green and Felix, Charles, and Conrad von Blucher, who formed an unbroken lineage of official surveyors in our region and whose records extensively document the development of Nueces County and its surrounding areas. A special thanks to Joyce Green for stopping by the library to gift these items from the estate of her late mother-in-law, Patricia Green.

New Librarians!

New Librarians Anjanette and Emily

We’re very happy to announce the arrival of two new members of our team. Anjanette Jones joins us as our new User Experience and Web Design Librarian. Emily Metcalf is our new Instructional Services Librarian. Drop by the library and say hello and help us welcome them both to the Island!

 

New Documentaries Have Arrived!

PBS Documentaries

Our Media Staff have let us know that they have a new batch of documentaries available for checkout. The films cover a wide variety of topics. They also let us know that we now have all the seasons for Vikings and Poldark. Give your brain a break today! If you have questions about anything Media related, let us know 361-825-2311.

Birds of North America

Anhinga from Birds of North America

Want to learn more about that bird? Check out Birds of North America. The library now subscribes, offering you detailed scientific information for more than 700 species of birds nesting in the United States and Canada, with images and recordings of bird songs and calls.

Did you know? 2018 is the Year of the Bird!

Hurricane Harvey - Our Stories

Hurricane Harvey Radar

Special Collections and Archives recently acquired two collections of oral histories captured by students in two history classes this past fall. The students interviewed residents in the Corpus Christi area affected by Hurricane Harvey which made landfall in Rockport, Texas on August 2017. The interviews were collaborative projects with Special Collections and Archives staff and the students. You can access the histories here: http://bit.ly/2IdQ1So and http://bit.ly/2pR13WU

Need a Primary Source?

Database Trail Screenshot - Primary Sources

As Black History Month comes to a close and Women’s History begins, the library is offering limited time access to four primary source databases. The American Slavery Collection: 1820-1922, Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive, Women’s Issues and Identities, and the Archives of Sexuality and Gender will all be accessible on a trial bases. Take a look and let us know what you think!

Meet Our Team!

Library Student Employees

Have you been in the library lately? Our students and graduate assistants are now sporting library shirts. Looking for some help in the stacks? You can now spot a team member on sight. Many thanks to all of our students for helping make the library an awesome place to work!

Introducing ProQuest Central

ProQuest Central brings together multiple databases to provide access across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and market reports.

Do you know an Outstanding Author?

Dr. Jennifer Sorensen

We’re looking for nominations for our next Outstanding Author in our Speaker Series. You can find our earlier speakers here. We’re excited to continue to highlight the scholarship and creative activity of our Island community. Want to brag a little? Self-nominations are welcome!

Scholarly Communication Services

Edward Warga

Have you met Ed? Our Reference and Scholarly Communication Librarian has added some new resources to our web site. Learn about Author Services, Copyright, Research Data Management, Theses and Dissertations, and much more! We can help with tools and services for sharing research outputs, guidance on publishing options, and assistance in decoding traditional and alternative impact metrics. Contact Ed Warga at edward.warga@tamucc.edu or 361-825-5961 for more information.

Birds of North America

Anhinga Birds of North America

Want to learn more about that bird? Check out Birds of North America. The library now subscribes, offering you detailed scientific information for more than 700 species of birds nesting in the United States and Canada, with images and recordings of bird songs and calls.

New Database - Women's Magazine Archive

Women's Magazine Archive Screenshot

Women’s Magazine Archive provides access to the complete archives of the foremost titles of this type, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Other titles here focus on narrower topics but deliver valuable source content for specific research areas. Parents, for example, is of particular relevance for research in the fields of children’s education, psychology, and health, as well as reflecting broader social historical trends. The magazines are all scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color, ensuring that the original print artifacts are faithfully reproduced and that valuable non-article items, such as advertisements, are included.

Better Homes & Gardens (1922 to 2005)
Chatelaine (1928 to 2005)
Good Housekeeping (1885 to 2005)
Ladies’ Home Journal (1883 to 2005)
Parents (1926 to 2005)
Redbook (1903 to 2005)

Kanopy

Kanopy Screenshot

Have you tried streaming Kanopy yet? One of the latest additions to the library - Kanopy offers documentary, educational, and feature films. There's a companion app and a Roku channel, so you can take Kanopy with you! Enjoy over 26,000 titles on us.

The Library's New Quick Search

Searching has changed!

Quick Search Screen Shot

We’ve changed the search platform used in a Quick Search. This will offer better search results and improve linking to library content. The changes will be most obvious in the results list and the Journals list. Take a look around and see what you think!

If you have questions or if you need any assistance, please reach out to the Ask Us Desk or stop by and see a librarian.

Streaming Video

Streaming Video Image

Did you know that the library offers access to streaming video content? Check out Films on Demand (we have both the Master Academic Package and the Nursing Video Collection!)

You can also find some amazing content in Kanopy. Download their app and take your content with you!

Can't find what you're looking for? We also offer streaming through Ambrose Digital Video.

Access Films on Demand, Kanopy and Ambrose on the library's Database page.