Research Guides: Genealogy Research: Planting Your Family Tree: Cultural Research

Databases to Research Cultures

African American Archives This link opens in a new window
Throughout U.S. History, African Americans have played an integral part in the development and achievement of this country. These unique original documents reveal a side of the African American story that few have seen before.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials on American Indian history and cultures. Document types include manuscripts, artworks, speeches and petitions, diaries, correspondence, linguistic and ethnographic studies, photographs, maps, photographs, rare printed books and American Indian newspapers. Full color reproductions. Searchable.
American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971 This link opens in a new window
This module delivers collections from the U.S. National
Archives and the Chicago History Museum, as well as firsthand accounts on Indian Wars and westward migration.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable database of non-fiction works by African-American leaders and others who have dealt substantially with issues of race in America. Includes books, essays, articles, speeches, letters, interviews, and other materials, some of which have not previously been published. Includes brief biographical information for all authors.
Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980) Series I This link opens in a new window
Archive of many of the Spanish language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the early 20th century, documenting the role of Mexican immigrants and providing an outlet for Hispanic voices. The newspapers date from the 1800’s to the 1950’s, representing locations such as Indiana and Missouri, although most locations focus on New Mexico and Texas cities and towns. Part of the Archive of Americana.
Native American Archives This link opens in a new window
Whether tracing your heritage or learning about Native American history, original records shed new light on the people and events of the past. Over 1.5 million images available for the first time on the Internet. 1801-1940

Native Land
A map of Native American territories. Put together by a non-profit organization in recognition and respect of the lands we inhabit.

Note: This list is by no mean exhaustive. There are many cultures not represented here. To learn more about a specific culture, please feel free to contact the library for assistance in doing so, or perform a Google search.

Google tip: To ensure your results in Google lean towards being more reliable, enter your search term followed by any of the following: "site:.edu, site:.gov, or site:.org" For example: "Filipino culture site:.edu"