Genealogy Research: Planting Your Family Tree

This family of historical collections contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents, and ephemera printed in America over three centuries. Includes: Early American Imprints, Series I Evans (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819); America’s Historical Newspapers; American State Papers, 1789-1838; and U.S. Congressional Serial Set.

Contains abstracts and some full text from all key English language historical journals covering U.S. and Canadian history. Coverage includes book and media reviews and dissertations. Indexes articles from other countries, state and local historical societies.

Provides electronic access to reference books. Browse or search one reference source or all at one time. Content and/or interface may be translated into a selected languages upon request. Entries may be downloaded, and persistent URLS saved for future use.

Access to various types of U.S. military records from the Revolutionary War onward. Also includes stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.

Federal Census documents from 1790 to 1940, local history journals and periodicals, Revolutionary War Pension documents make up some of the primary sources for researching local history and genealogy. A collection of several separate databases of historical content.
Unlimited simultaneous users allowed.
Content is updated irregularly.

Collection of historical newspapers including Chicago Defender (1909 - 1975), Chicago tribune (1849 - 2015), The Guardian and The Observer (1791 - 2003), LA Times (1881 - 2015), New York Times (1851 - 2020), Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2012), The Washington Post (1877 - 2008), and the New York Tribune/Herald Tribune (1841 - 1962).

Digitized maps provide detailed property and land-use records depicting the architecture of Texas towns and cities throughout the past one hundred years. The maps enable researchers to trace the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, neighborhoods and communities.