Research Guides: Library Resources for Online Students: eBooks & Media

How do I Search for eBooks?

Quick Search is your best bet to find ebooks. First click on the search box to display the additional filters below. Then click on:

Books/ebooks
Full-text online

Look in the center of the results page in Quick Search for the book you want. Click on the Full Text Online to get to the online book text.

Searching for Media (Video, Audio, Images)

Quick Search is an excellent way to find streaming video content in the library's collections. Click once on the search bar to display the search filters, then check "Film/Video." Add your search terms, and then you are ready to browse the result list.

This image shows the Quick Search bar. Click once in the empty space in the search box to display additional checkbox filters below. Check the Films/Video filter, the third choice in the left side column to limit your results to video.

The library's AZ database list has a pulldown menu that lets you browse all the Streaming Video databases. Here's a list of several favorite streaming video databases:

BBC Landmark Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of BBC Nature series such as Blue Planet I and II, Planet Earth, Life, and others.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a video streaming solution for colleges offering a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad selection of over 26,000 documentaries, feature films, and educational videos from thousands of producers. Also available via iOS app, Android app, or Roku channel.
Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
Educational video reseource with programs including operas, ballets, concerts, documentaries, and master classes filmed from 1940s - present. Also contains live streaming (up to 3 months later) of events from concert halls, opera houses festivals, and competitions.

Click on the Quick Search search bar, then select Music/Audio Recordings to search for streaming audio in the library's collections.

Alternatively, browse the database A-Z list for Streaming Audio databases. Here are a few selected Streaming Audio databases:

Ethnographic Sound Archives Online This link opens in a new window
This collection includes previously unpublished historic audio recordings and their supporting field materials, bringing together 2,000 hours of audio recordings from field expeditions around the world, particularly from the 1960s through the 1980s.
Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
Educational video reseource with programs including operas, ballets, concerts, documentaries, and master classes filmed from 1940s - present. Also contains live streaming (up to 3 months later) of events from concert halls, opera houses festivals, and competitions.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive classical streaming music online library. With hundreds of top music labels, it contains titles spanning medieval music to modern, jazz, electronic, world music, pop, rock, and more. Naxos also offers expert educational content written by a staff of musicologists, plus composer biographies, a glossary of musical terms, opera libretti and synopses, and more.
Twenty concurrent users.

Instead of using Quick Search, Click on the Databases button underneath the search bar, then use the "All Database Types" menu to scroll and choose Images. Browse an image database from the list to find the images you need!

Here are some selected image databases to explore:

Open Artstor This link opens in a new window
Collection including over 200,000 Creative-Commons-licensed images from Artstor. The images come from the Folger Shakespeare Library, the Science Museum Group, and more.
Gerritsen Collection This link opens in a new window
Source for international women's history and the feminist movement. Materials spanning four centuries and fifteen languages. Delivers two million images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a country.
Two simultaneous users allowed.
Content is updated irregularly.
Images of America: A History of American Life in Images and Texts This link opens in a new window
The collection is growing to 5,000 volumes, 650,000 pages, and more than a million images—covering thousands of towns and cultural groups in all 50 states.
Each book captures a piece of American history through primary documents and images.
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels This link opens in a new window
This collection is the first-ever scholarly online collection for researchers and students of adult comic books and graphic novels. This multi-part resource covers the full spectrum of this visual art form, from pre-comics code era works to modern sequential releases from artists the world over.
The collection contextualizes these original works with 25,000 pages of interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines, including The Comics Journal. Also included in this collection is The Seduction of the Innocent by Dr. Frederick Wertham—the book that led to one of the largest censorship programs in US history—and the complete transcripts of the senate subcommittee hearings that birthed the Comics Code Authority and, inadvertently, the underground comix movement.

Navigating to the Next Page....

Almost to the end of the orientation guide! Next, let's visit the Citations, Tutorials, and Writing Help for resources to assist with proper citation, where to access writing and citation assistance, and general library and research tutorials.

Library Resources for Online Students

eBook Databases

Streaming Video Databases

Streaming Audio Databases

Image Databases

Ask Us!

How do I Search for eBooks?

Searching for Media (Video, Audio, Images)

Navigating to the Next Page....