Education Research Guide:SPED 3310

Evaluating Source Credibility & More!

We define credible as capable of being believed; believable or plausible. Factors that could impact credibility of a resource include the author, and the publication. Ask yourself, "how credible is this resource for the assigned task?" 

Important Terms

Definition

Credible/Credibility

Capable of being believed; believable or plausible: a credible witness; a credible explanation. 

Authority

An accepted source of expert information or advice.  (The American Heritage(R) Dictionary of the English Language).

Authoritative

Having or arising from authority; official; Of acknowledged accuracy or excellence; highly reliable ((The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language) 

Factors that impact credibility include:

  • Author: Does the author have authority in special education? What gives them expertise?
  • Publication: Is the publication a well-established source of special education information? 
  • Sources cited: If the resource has cited other experts in the field of special education, then that adds to the credibility of the resource. 

We define suitable as appropriate for a particular person, situation, etc; fitting. Factors that could impact suitability include the format and currency of the resource, and the relevancy of the resource to the need. Ask yourself, "how suitable is this resource for the assigned task?"

Important Terms

Definition

Suitable

Appropriate for a particular person, situation, etc; fitting (The Penguin English Dictionary)

Factors that impact suitability include: 

  • Format of information: Different formats of information meet different information needs.
  • Peer-reviewed or publishing process: The more people who reviewed the resource before publication will mean the information is more likely to be correct.
  • Currency: When a resource was published is going to impact how suitable it is for your information need. 
  • Relevancy: The content of the source should fit with your research question. 

Let's take a moment to consider the SWIFT method. Below is an article taken from the New York Post. Take a moment to review it and consider the SWIFT method as you do. 

As a reminder you can visit a page covering SWIFT (click or copy/paste - https://guides.library.tamucc.edu/swift). For convenience, here's a brief reminder of questions to ask when going through the parts of SWIFT:

SWIFT

Consider this...

STOP

  • What kind of content is this?
  • Who wrote or created it?
  • When was it published?
  • Who published it?

WIKIPEDIA

  • Does the person/entity/company have a Wikipedia entry?
  • If so, what background information about the person/entity/company from Wikipedia reveal about them?
  • Do they have agendas, controversies, or affiliations that might affect the information you are evaluating?
  • What expertise do they have?
  • How do you feel about what you've learned?

INVESTIGATE

  • What exactly is the source?
  • What can you find out about the website?
  • What do you know about the author?
  • Does the author have relevant expertise?
  • Is this source worth your time?

FIND

  • Is other coverage similar?
  • Is there better source out there?
  • Is there a source that's more trusted?
  • Is there a source that's more in-depth?
  • What do expert sources agree on with coverage?

TRACE

  • Can you find the original source?
  • What is the original content?
  • Has it been accurately presented?
  • What do fact-checking sites say about the veracity of the story or image?

Lateral reading is using other websites and sources to verify claims and content on websites you are evaluating. It is a strategy used by professional fact-checkers. It's as simple as opening up a few more windows on your browser and searching other sites for claims, persons, things, and events to verify content as  your read the source page.

It's different than vertical reading, which is when you stay on a website and follow the links or analyze the content on your source page without verifying with outside sources. 

Practice Group Work Directions

You will be divided up into breakout rooms and be given 2 resources to evaluate. Using SWIFT, can you evaluate each resource and determine which one is the more credible and suitable resource?

Scenario A: Hearing Loss and Reading

A classmate found 2 resources for their annotated bibliography project about Hearing Loss and Reading. Using SWIFT, can you help them evaluate each resource and determine which one is the more credible and suitable resource? Be ready to explain your thinking.

Scenario B: Intellectual Disabilities and Counting

A classmate found 2 resources for their annotated bibliography project about Intellectual Disabilities and Counting. Using SWIFT, can you help them evaluate each resource and determine which one is the more credible and suitable resource? Be ready to explain your thinking.

Searching through YOUR library!

Below you'll find a convenient Quick Search box, a link to the ERIC Database (explored in class), and a few other databases that may help you as you research!

Note: Accessing the databases from off campus? Use your Islander ID and password to log in and Duo Authenticate.

Interested in more databases? Check out the "Find Articles" tab of this guide!

Google as a search tool!

Reliable, credible information can be found even if you don't have access to library databases. Here's a list of suggested resources to consider when seeking alternative resources:

  • Your Local Public Library
    Public libraries have resources geared for their local communities.
     
  • Education or Special Education Organizations
    Professional organizations are often great sources for information and will occasionally provide access to research conducted by organization members.. An example would be a site like the National Association of Special Education Teachers (NASET).
    • NOTE: You do need to be careful with any .org or organization website. Some can be bias and lack credibility. Refer back to the SWIFT method to verify.
       
  • Google and Google Scholar
    Shocked? There are ways to navigate Google to find credible and suitable resources - one example is using site:.edu/.gov/.org while searching. Reference to this tip page for more info: https://guides.library.tamucc.edu/COEHD/UsingGoogle

Ask Us!

 
  • Call: 361-825-2340
  • Text: 361-726-4986
  • Email us
  • Visit the Circulation Desk in Bell Library
Subjects: Education