Of or relating to institutionalized education and scholarship, especially at a college or university.
Of or relating to studies that rely on reading and involve abstract thought rather than being primarily practical or technical.
The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
Prose piece of writing, discussing or describing a topic or issue, often written for a specific publication.
The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather Guide
Having or arising from authority; official: an authoritative decree; authoritative sources.
Of acknowledged accuracy or excellence; highly reliable: an authoritative account of the revolution.
The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
Capable of being believed; believable or plausible: a credible witness; a credible explanation.
The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
Expressed in discrete numerical form, especially for use by a computer or other electronic device: digital information.
Relating to or being a device that can generate, record, process, receive, transmit, or display information that is represented in discrete numerical form.
Relating to or being a service that provides information expressed in discrete numerical form: We subscribe to digital cable.
The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
the ability to find, evaluate, create, and communicate information effectively and responsibly by leveraging the appropriate technology to achieve one's goals.
TAMUCC's Quality Enhancement Plan: I Know Digital Information Literacy
The ability to identify and pursue effective digital approaches for accessing information, as well as assess the quantity, quality, and relevance of their search results; this includes actions such as keyword searching and citation following.
TAMUCC's Quality Enhancement Plan: I Know Digital Information Literacy
Able to express oneself readily and effortlessly: a fluent speaker; fluent in three languages.
Flowing effortlessly; polished: speaks fluent Russian; gave a fluent performance of the sonata.
The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
Knowledge communicated or received concerning some fact or circumstance
The ability to recognize the need for information, and be able to locate, evaluate, and use the information.
ACRL Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education, quoted in Encyclopedia of Distance Learning
Capacity to communicate using inscribed, printed, or electronic signs or symbols for representing language.
Literacy is the condition or quality of being able to read and write. The term has been used in a narrow fashion (e.g., ability to sign one’s name) and in some cases it has taken on much broader meaning (e.g., computer literacy or economic literacy).
A process by which something proposed (as for research or publication) is evaluated by a group of experts in the appropriate field
Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary
A method of quality control of scholarly articles, whereby each article submitted for publication in a journal is sent to one or more scholars working in the same research field as the author and the scholar(s) assess(es) whether the article is of a high enough standard and appropriate for publication in that particular journal.
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
The primary activity in science, a combination of theory and experimentation directed towards finding scientific explanations of phenomena. It is commonly classified into two types: pure research, involving theories with little apparent relevance to human concerns; and applied research, concerned with finding solutions to problems of social or commercial importance – for instance in medicine and engineering. The two types are linked in that theories developed from pure research may eventually be found to be of great value to society.
The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather Guide
Characteristic of or suitable for learned people; academic
The Penguin English Dictionary
A periodical that contains in each issue a number of articles on a particular subject, with the articles usually being unrelated to each other and written by different authors, each of which contains a description of the results of a piece of research work or other scholarly investigation.
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
The keywords, search engines, and limiters we use when searching for information. More generally, it is the “what,” “where,” and scope of a search.
A person or thing from which something comes into being or is derived or obtained: alternative sources of energy; the source of funding for the project.
If you want help creating or adapting activities that reflect the I-Know Student Learning Objectives (SLOs) into your own course, you can contact Emily Sartorius at emily.sartorius@tamucc.edu.
