Research Guides: Military & Veterans: Journal Articles & More

Finding Journals and Journal Articles

What is the quickest way to find and/or browse a journal?

This image shows the Journals search button on the library's main website. Click on the Journals button on the library's homepage and search by title or ISBN number to find out if the library has a journal, and if so, where to find it online or in print. Typically, a journal entry in the search will list publication information, library call number and location information if the journal is in print, a link to a database for online content along with the dates available, and more information.

Browse by Category: Search for military journals by title or browse by the Military & Naval Science category and subcategories.

If we don't have the journal you need, try Google Scholar or more reliably, use the Interlibrary Loan service.

This image shows a journal information entry in the library's journal search, with journal title, library's holdings (dates available) and linked databases that have full text articles from that specific journal.

Researching military and veterans' interest topics may draw on different subjects and disciplines ranging from history, military science, sociology, medicine, psychology, legistation, and more. Check the library's A-Z databases list to view the entire list of library databases and browse databases by subject. Here is a list of some selected databases you might consider as you begin your research:

Fold3 Library Edition
Access to various types of U.S. military records from the Revolutionary War onward. Also includes stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
JSTOR
Arts & Sciences Collections I - XV include the complete back runs of journals in many disciplines, with research journals in economics, history, political science, sociology, ecology, mathematics, statistics, etc..
Unlimited users.
Pilots Database (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress)
This bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. It provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
PUBMED
Web-based database which covers almost all the medical and health literature, with over 15 million citations.
Unlimited simultaneous users allowed.
Content is updated irregularly.
Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 periodicals and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
World War II Archives
Experience World War 2 like never before. Read firsthand accounts, view photos & documents never-before-seen on the internet and add your own stories, photos and documents.

Google Scholar is also useful for Literature Reviews and intensive searching!

Google Scholar contains much more content in languages other than English and English content from more geographically diverse areas. That can be an advantage if you are performing a literature review.

Use "Related articles" and "Cited by" links to access articles that are similar or related to the article citation you are examining.

This image shows what an article entry looks like in Google scholar with cited by, related articles, and web of science links highlighted. Related Articles finds articles written on similar topics.

Cited by lists all articles that cited the source article you are examining. Occasionally Google Scholar will also list Web of Science cited by counts.