Where is the library located on Campus?
Bell Library is located between the Glasscock Center for Student Achievement (CASA) and the O'Connor Building. The interactive map link is useful for students and visitors wanting to know more about locations on campus.
How do I borrow materials, and for how long?
Students can check out items from Bell library like books, DVDs, calculators, study rooms, laptops, and more. How long depends on the item, if you are an undergrad, grad, or faculty member. Students, faculty, and staff can also get resources from other libraries using the Interlibrary Loan service or TexShare.
Interlibrary loan is an online service to connect students with items our library doesn't own, are checked out, or in non-circulating collections. Interlibrary Loan is fast and quick, and best of all, students already have an account - just activate by logging in to Tipasa with your IslandID and password!
Are food and/or drinks allowed in the library?
Food and drinks are allowed throughout the library except around electronic equipment or inside the Special Collections and Archives(opens in a new tab) department. There are several places in and near the library for students to grab a snack or coffee.
Can I print, scan, or copy in the library?
Yes, you can print in color and in black and white in the library - prices start at $.09 per page. You can also print larger format posters in the I-Create makerspace on the 2nd floor (stop by I-Create to find out more about pricing. Scroll down the page to view the printing FAQs. Scanning in the library is free. There are no copiers in the library.
Click on the down arrow to continue through the introductory content.
Research Guides are like curated mini-websites created to help you as you navigate a particular subject. Use a Research Guide to find:
Library Instruction & Librarian Liaison Teams
Many classes from freshman level up to Doctoral level meet with a librarian in a library classroom, during an online class, or in their own classrooms.
Librarians are organized into teams assigned as liaisons to different colleges and schools within TAMU-CC.
Typically students majoring in a subject will meet with one or more librarians from their college or school's group either in a librarian-led instruction session or in an individual research consultation.
Click on the down arrow to continue through the introductory content.
Reserve a Study Room
Main Library Study Rooms
Visit the Circulation desk with a valid SandDollar$ ID to check out study rooms. Study rooms are available first-come, first served when the library is open. Large study rooms require more than one student to present their valid SandDollar$ IDs for check out. Click on the Study Rooms page for more information.
I-Create Study Rooms
The I-Create Lab has 5 study rooms available for check out. Use the Study Rooms Reservations page to reserve an I-Create study room. I-Create is typically open from 8-5 on Weekdays and closed on weekends. Check the I-Create page for current hours.
Open Study Areas
Open Study spaces in the library do not require check-out. Areas of interest for open study spaces include:
First Floor:
Second Floor:
Computer Labs
Computer Lab 1 is located on the first floor. Find the hallway near the elevators, and follow the signs to reach Computer Lab 1. Occasionally classes are held in Computer Lab 1, but you can check the schedule to avoid busy times.
Electronic Resources Lab computers are located near the printers on the first floor. Check computer availability before you leave home.
Simply log in with your student IslandID and password to use these computers.
Click on the down arrow to continue through the introductory content.
Sometimes you need to start with a more focused search in only one or two databases that specialize in certain topics, subject areas, or disciplines. The library has 328 different Research Databases.
This list links to all 328 databases available from the Bell Library. You can search alphabetically by title, subject, or content type.
There are also streaming media and image databases you can use to access movies, music, and pictures!
Streaming Video: The library has a category in the A-Z databases list that will display a list of all the Streaming Video databases. Kanopy (Netflix-like feature film and documentary film database) is a favorite!
Image Collections: Browse the database A-Z list for Image databases. Open Artstor is a favorite, but there are plenty of other wonderful image collections waiting for you to explore!
Streaming Audio: Browse the database A-Z list for Streaming Audio databases. Naxos Music Library is a fave!
Click on the down arrow to continue through the introductory content.
Oh my! Need to print something? We have you covered? Looking to scan a document or a few pages from a book? Yep, we can do that too! We have all of your needs covered in this area. Visit the library and stop at the Circulation Desk to learn more!